A photo of Jamie, a tutor from Muhlenberg College

Jamie

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am currently a student at Muhlenberg College in Allentown, Pennsylvania, working toward a degree in International Studies and Economics. Despite not being an English major, my favorite courses have always involved the study and analysis of literature. In high school I completed both AP English Language and Composition and AP English Literature and Composition, and have helped many underclassmen since then prepare for these AP tests. I enjoy tutoring because I can relate to the challenge of struggling in a class not necessarily because of the material itself but rather because of the way the material is presented. Learning is a very personal experience - what makes it "click" for one student may not work for another. I think what scares most people about writing, especially at the high school and college level, is that there typically is no right and wrong answer. Especially for those more inclined to math and sciences, this can be very challenging. But it doesn't have to be! I would like to help students see analytical reading and writing as opportunities to explore not only literature, but also their own opinions, interpretations and connections. When I'm not writing my own papers, you can find me practicing my figure skating at the ice rink or working behind the scenes in my college theater.

Jamie’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Muhlenberg College - Bachelor of Science, International Relations

Test Scores

SAT Composite: 1410

SAT Math: 660

SAT Verbal: 750

SAT Writing: 21

Hobbies

I enjoy figure skating, reading, painting, and musical theater! I also try and spend as much time as I can outdoors.

Tutoring Subjects

American Literature

English

High School English

High School Level American Literature

High School Writing

Languages

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing

Spanish

Spanish 1

Spanish 2