A photo of MiKayla, a tutor from Florida Southern College

MiKayla

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am currently finishing my education at Florida Southern College for a Bachelors of Arts in History. During my time here, I have observed many grade school students, mainly secondary, and have brought a different approach to the classroom. I firmly believe that learning should build strong foundations while expanding the base for more learning opportunities. I love to teach Music and Foreign Languages, mainly French and it always warms my heart when get to see that 'Aha!' moment on a student's face when everything falls into place. I was once the 'non-conventional' learner myself and I utilize that to my advantage every time when I give an explanation for something that seems to stump a person. 'You'll never forget it now!', I always say.

I began to realize my love for music at a young age when I went to a music camp at my community college when I was 7. My mind was blown! There were so many instruments there and I could learn about them! When it came time for me to register for my first middle school classes, I put band as the very first thing I wanted to do and now, after about 10 years of playing instruments and writing music, I can say without a doubt that I'm still in love with it, just like that 7 year old girl.

French came to me when I was in high school and I needed to take a foreign language. It was either that or Spanish, and they always said the Spanish classes were full. That didn't bother me, since I always loved European culture and French was at the top of the list. I've been studying French either independently or in a classroom setting for about 3 years now, with some other languages mixed in.

When I'm not tutoring, I'm either serving up some coffee in my college Starbucks, playing my sax, harp, or piano, or just having fun with my dog, Fletcher.

MiKayla’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Florida Southern College - Bachelor in Arts, History

Hobbies

Crafting, cooking, pets

Tutoring Subjects

Accompaniment

AP Music Theory

Arrangement and Composition

Bass Clarinet

Clarinet

Composition

English

Middle School Writing

Music

Music Theory

Other

Saxophone