1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Allyson

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Allyson, a tutor from Temple University


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

First, I would like to provide a brief overview of my academic qualifications:
I am a recent graduate of Widener Universitys Delaware Law School, with quite a diverse academic and employment background. Prior to attending law school, I graduated from Temple University with a degree in biology. During my undergraduate career, I intended to eventually apply to medical school. My undergraduate courses were all science and math based. Therefore, I have an extensive knowledge base in such courses. Although I did well on that academic track, I came to realize that law school was a better fit for me because I loved writing. Presently, I am pursuing a legal career in the areas of patent, environmental, or business/contracting law. Focusing in on these legal practices will allow me to use my biology degree as well as my law degree.

Second, I would like to explain why I would make a good tutor:
Given my broad academic background, for which I spent many years as a student with a demanding course load in the disciplines of both science and law, I am confident to take on the important role of tutor in a vast variety of courses and various student needs. Further, the fact that every school acceptance or test achievement thus far has required rigorous studying, often over several months at a time, makes me a perfect fit for the job. I myself have endured many years of intense studying. Importantly, I can resonate with students about the difficulties of being a student. I am honestly not a genius; rather, I am a very hard worker. It was necessary for me to study very hard for every test I have had in the past, including the recent bar exam (taken this past summer). Therefore, I am able to understand the difficulties of studying, and how much work it really takes for a student to perform as well as they hope to.
Additionally, I understand that all students struggle with studying and test-taking in different ways. The hardest obstacle that I had to get past was test-taking in time-crunch situations. However, at this point in my life, I have practiced taking tests under such pressures so many times, that I feel I've come close to mastering it. Although never perfect, practice is everything. On average, I spent about 10 -14 hours each day in law school either in class, studying, or completing assignments. Becoming comfortable with studying methods and test-taking conditions can make a world of difference in a student's success. Essentially, I have become a professional studier! I would be honored to help students become as comfortable and confident in academic situations as I have finally become after all of these years.

Lastly, I would like to point out some of the subjects that I really love as well as some aspects of my personal life, family, and hobbies:

Favorite Subjects:
Writing - This is definitely my favorite subject! It has always been more of a natural skill of mine than any other subject. I am consistently asked by my younger brothers, other family members, and friends to review and edit their school papers and other types of documents.
Biology (specifically anatomy and life Science courses) - I have always been very interested with this subject area, which is why I chose it as my college major. As I discussed above, I previously intended to pursue a career in medicine. Therefore, anatomy and medical terminology classes became my priority for years during college. I also worked in an emergency room for about 2 years, assisting ER physicians in their patient documentation requirements. This expanded my anatomy and biology knowledge in a clinical setting.
Various math courses - I genuinely enjoy basic math courses because the skills learned in many of them are crucial to leading a successful adult life.

Family Life:
I am the oldest of 4 siblings, and also the only girl. We are all very close, and enjoy spending time together. Helping my brothers in school assignments over the years has also been great practice for tutoring!

Throughout my entire life, health and fitness has always been highly important to me. My love for recreational sports actually started at 2-years-old, when my parents taught me how to ski. I switched to snowboarding in 7th grade, and to this day it is my favorite sport.
As for my competitive sports, I swam and played soccer since I was about 5. I turned my swimming career into a beach lifeguard position, which I had for 7 summers on the North Wildwood Beach Patrol (in New Jersey).
Currently, I run a few times a week and enjoy taking my dog on long walks. I feel that keeping physically fit is a great way to maintain mental wellness!

Connect with a tutor like Allyson

Allyson’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Temple University - Bachelor in Arts, Biology, General

Graduate Degree: Widener University-Delaware Campus - Juris Doctor, Prelaw Studies


running, snowboarding, swimming, water sports, walking my dog, boating

Tutoring Subjects


College Application Essays

Elementary School Math


Essay Editing

High School Writing


Middle School Math



SAT Writing and Language

Test Prep


Connect with a tutor like Allyson