A photo of Ori, a tutor from Brandeis University

Ori

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I'm from Philadelphia by way of Boston where I attended Brandeis University for Music Composition and Psychology. I am a musician and composer by trade, and I play saxophone, guitar, and piano (and I teach lessons in all 3!). Most recently, I've been involved in social work with people diagnosed with mental illnesses. Throughout college and during my 4 years in social work, I tutored individuals of all ages and abilities. During that time, I learned that anyone is capable of learning any subject they want. In addition, with the assistance of the right teacher, they are able to find a way to relate to the material on a more personal level. I believe that my role as a tutor is to guide a student to understand the material, while it is the student's job to remember and understand that process in order to use that material in the future. My schedule is flexible, and I am open to twice weekly sessions if you need help before a big paper or test. I hope to work with you soon!

Ori’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Brandeis University - Bachelors, Music Composition and Psychology

Hobbies

performing, writing music

Tutoring Subjects

Algebra

Algebra 2

College Algebra

College English

Conversational French

English

English Grammar and Syntax

Essay Editing

Finite Mathematics

French

French 1

French 2

Geometry

Hebrew

High School English

Homework Support

Languages

Math

Middle School Math

Music

Music Theory

Other

Pre-Algebra

Social studies

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

World Religions

Writing


Q & A

What is your teaching philosophy?

Anyone can learn anything; the key is finding something to help relating to the material.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

We would discuss barriers that the student may be having, discuss the student's interests both in school and outside of school, and review the material that they have been working on in class to this point.

How can you help a student become an independent learner?

Learning is a process that can occur independently or cooperatively. The most important thing is finding the method of learning that works best for that individual.