1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Justin

Personalized Learning • Professional Tutoring

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Justin, a tutor from Boston University

Justin

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a graduate of Boston University, where I received my Bachelor of Science in Film & Television in 2010. I am currently working towards an Associate of Science degree in Engineering Science at RVCC. Immediately after graduating from BU in 2010, I became a substitute teacher at the high school I had attended, teaching a variety of subjects such as Band, General Science and Latin. After substituting for 6 months, I moved to Los Angeles, California to pursue a career in Set Lighting. After two years of settling in, I joined a local non-profit tutoring group. Initially, I helped elementary school students with creative writing projects, and then I moved to general after-school tutoring sessions, where ages ranged from 6-14. I'm most comfortable tutoring Math (up to Calculus) and Science related subjects, as well as helping with expository writing assignments. To me, Math and Science can be treated very much like puzzles and thus can be be broken down into small, enjoyable pieces that motivate the student to learn and build upon. Expository writing is related to Math and Science to me because all three involve logical explanations of subject matter. Expository writing is all about maintaining focus on proving the student's thesis. With that understanding in every paragraph, content just falls into place! My teaching style is built on respect: I refuse to patronize students by hand-holding them through assignments either by my tone of voice or over-involvement on my part. I think this is counterproductive, as it reinforces the idea that the student can't do assignments without outside help. Instead, I treat the student as a peer that only needs a new way to look at a problem. My goal is to to get each student, as quickly as possible, to a point where they feel confident enough to know they no longer need my help. When I'm not studying for my second degree or tutoring, I'm spending time with my family, working out in the gym, playing tennis or basketball, taking a ton of pictures, or playing guitar. I also like to keep up with current events and what's happening on the internet. Most importantly, I like to have a lot of laughs while I'm doing these things!

Connect with a tutor like Justin

Justin’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Boston University - Bachelor of Science, Film and Television

Test Scores

SAT Composite: 1440

SAT Math: 700

SAT Verbal: 740

Hobbies

Tennis, Basketball, Guitar, Photography, Surfing, Movies/TV


Connect with a tutor like Justin