A photo of Darcy, a tutor from Bard College at Simon's Rock

Darcy

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I graduated from Bard College at Simon's Rock at age 19 with a Bachelors of Arts in Philosophy and Science Foundations. After graduating, I applied to and was accepted into the New York City Teaching Fellows. As part of that program, I earned a Masters in Education, focusing on adolescent mathematics education and students with disabilities.
Most of my experience tutoring comes as a Math and Special Education teacher. I regularly work with students after school on Math homework, ranging from Pre-Algebra to Pre-Calculus. I enjoy tutoring because it is much easier to get to know a student, and for a student to get to know me, one-one-one as opposed to in a large class. As a tutor, I always try to find a student's strengths and use that as a starting point to build on. I know many students dislike or are even fearful of Math, but it has always been my favorite subject as a student and as a teacher. I want to make Math as exciting and relevant to every student as it has always been for me.
In my free time, I like to read, cook, and kayak. I grew up near the water in Maryland, so kayaking was easy to do. I do not get the chance as frequently in NYC, but I have been out on both rivers!

Darcy’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Bard College at Simon's Rock - Bachelor in Arts, Philosophy, Science Foundations

Graduate Degree: St. Johns University - Master of Science, Education

State Certified Teacher

Test Scores

SAT Composite: 2100

SAT Math: 740

GRE Quantitative: 165

GRE Verbal: 167

Hobbies

Reading, watching TV, cooking