A photo of Anna, a tutor from University of Wisconsin, La Crosse

Anna

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a recent graduate from the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse with a double major in Sociology and Spanish. I first came to Austin, Texas during my final semester of undergrad for an internship. After seeing the strong Texas economy, friendly people, and great food, I decided that Austin is where I want to establish myself post-college. Also, spending a few winters in Texas - as opposed to in Wisconsin - seemed like a very appealing idea as well. I've started working with Varsity Tutors because I enjoy tutoring, love meeting new people, and am passionate about helping others.

In the past, I have worked with age groups ranging from kindergarten to high school seniors. While in high school, I tutored and mentored underclassmen. During and after high school, I worked independently with students who were referred to me by my high school's faculty. As a Group Leader for the Boys and Girls Club I worked with youth ages K-8 and I tutored and taught for Upward Bound during the semester and summer programs. I also taught cognitive skill building lessons to middle and high school aged youth for the YWCA's Restorative Justice program.

Grasping the objectivity of math can be difficult and I know how frustrating it can be when it seems like all of your fellow classmates understand something that you don't because I was in the same position for years. After having the proper mentoring and tutoring in the subject area, I began to (dare I say) enjoy it and even majored in it for a while. In regards to Spanish, I genuinely enjoy practicing it; it has always been a passion of mine. I first began studying it my first year of high school and have worked with and tutored students in the subject ever since.

Anna’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Wisconsin, La Crosse - Bachelor in Arts, Sociology, Spanish

Hobbies

Music, fashion, spending time with friends, watching documentaries

Tutoring Subjects

Algebra

Algebra 2

Arithmetic

College Algebra

Languages

Math

Middle School Math

Other

Spanish 1

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Summer

Trigonometry