A photo of Karina, a tutor from The Honors College at the University of Houston

Karina

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am currently a sophomore in the Honors College at the University of Houston majoring in Biology as a pre-med. Throughout my first year of college, I worked extensively with students at Chavez High School, tutoring for the SAT and working on their college applications. Through my work, I gained a passion for education that drove me to volunteer in a cognitive development lab to learn more about how early childhood moments impact long term success.
I consider college prep and the SAT to be my forte, but I also have background teaching middle and elementary school students and am comfortable teaching a variety of subjects. I've previously volunteered at the Children's Museum of Houston and Texas Children's hospital so I'm comfortable working with younger students as well as older students.
I believe every student starts with the same amount of potential, and hard work is what leads them to success. I hope to make my students more comfortable in the subjects they struggle with and give them the confidence they need to excel. Math, in particular, is something that so many students see as an obstacle, but I hope to help my students understand and enjoy math.
I look forward to working with kids on anything from homework and studying for exams to teaching them how to take effective notes.

Karina’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: The Honors College at the University of Houston - Bachelor of Science, Biology, General

Test Scores

SAT Composite: 2250

SAT Verbal: 780

SAT Writing: 790

Hobbies

I enjoy crafting, painting, reading, watching sunsets, spending time in coffee shops and playing volleyball. I also did Indian Classical Dance for 11+ years.

Tutoring Subjects

Algebra

American Literature

AP Research

AP Seminar

College Application Essays

College English

Composition

Elementary School

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Science

Elementary School Writing

English

Essay Editing

High School English

High School Level American Literature

High School Writing

Math

Middle School Math

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Science

Middle School Writing

Other

Pre-Algebra

PSAT Writing Skills

Public Speaking

SAT Reading

SAT Writing and Language

Test Prep