1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Asha

Personalized Learning • Professional Tutoring

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Asha, a tutor from Northern Illinois University

Asha

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am in my 6th year of professional, full-time teaching and have a passion for helping others academically! Education is a major key to success so that students may critically think, problem solve, and learn how to be independent learners. I make it my goal to show students just how what they're learning does relate to real life, by pulling on what they already know, and building on top of that.

I have an undergraduate degree in French language from Northern Illinois University, and a Masters degree in Teaching English as a Second or Other Language and Applied Linguistics from Southern Illinois University, with a GPA of 4.0. Aside from French, I also speak basic, conversational Spanish, due to self-taught lessons and extensive travels to Spain. I have worked at schools including Columbia University, Fairfield University, Southern Illinois University, and the language learning company ELS.

In my past five years of teaching, I have taught students from kindergarten to university level. My most recent experiences the past couple of years has been teaching adults and young adults academic English; this includes reading skills, writing skills, organization, vocabulary enhancement, speaking fluency, grammar, technology, and research skills. I also have taught academic English writing skills at universities, which benefits my students as they have a teacher who has a strong understanding of the expectations of university-level work!

I have always had an open mind towards diversity and value different perspectives, personalities, and cultures. Teaching ESL has taught me that every person is a different learner, and it is important to stay flexible and open, in order to attune my teaching methods according to what each student needs. I have also had the mind-opening experiences of teaching and living in France for two years and have traveled to 13 countries thus far! Traveling always teaches me more about the world and the people in it, and gives me heightened perspectives on how and why different people think.

I am an easy-going person, who not only enjoys teaching but also learning from my students! I am highly organized and prepared, but remain flexible in teaching when needed. Aside from teaching, I also enjoy yoga, reading non-fiction, traveling, jogging, bike riding, painting, tasting new foods, and meeting new people. I look forward to tutoring and getting to know you!

Connect with a tutor like Asha

Asha’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Northern Illinois University - Bachelor in Arts, French

Graduate Degree: Southern Illinois University Edwardsville - Master of Arts, TESOL

Hobbies

I enjoy painting, yoga, meditation, tasting new foods, traveling, reading non-fiction, bike riding, and jogging.

Tutoring Subjects

12th Grade Writing

Art

College English

College Essays

Comparative Literature

Conversational French

English

English Grammar and Syntax

ESL/ELL

Essay Editing

Expository Writing

French

French 1

French 2

French 3

French 4

Handwriting

High School English

High School Writing

Languages

Persuasive Writing

Vocabulary

Writing


Connect with a tutor like Asha