Connect with hundreds of tutors like Diana

Who needs tutoring?
What prompted you to seek tutoring?

I am very happy with our experience so far with Varsity Tutors. They matched my daughter with reading specialist Mary and she is wonderful! My 10 year old daughter feels happy after her sessions and believes her tutor has already helped her.

— Allison K

What prompted you to seek tutoring?

Varsity Tutors really helped me understand the concepts during my Calculus 2 class. My tutor has such amazing patience and is open to many questions! Lastly, was always on time and very prompt. Highly suggest Varsity Tutors.

— Joey T

How soon would you like to get started?
Did you know?

Understanding your timeframe helps us to develop a tailor-made learning plan just for you.

Let's finish up your profile so we can find the perfect tutor:
Did you know?


We have a 4.9/5 average customer satisfaction rating.

Let's finish up your profile so we can find the perfect tutor:

Found me a great Python, C Programming, and MatLab tutor for a Engineering Computation course.

— Charles C

Let's finish up your profile so we can find the perfect tutor:

The best tutoring service period. The customer service is beyond impeccable. They provide options that are perfectly suited to your needs. They've done such a wonderful job with my daughter in high school, I plan to use their services when she attends college. I highly recommend Varsity Tutors.

— Yvette

Let's finish up your profile so we can find the perfect tutor:

We know every student is unique. And they deserve a tutoring experience as unique as their needs. With thousands of tutors available, we're confident to find the one best for you.

A photo of Diana, a tutor from University of Toronto


Certified Tutor

I have a Master of Arts and a Bachelor of Arts Degree with Distinction from the University of Toronto ('U of T') Centre of Criminology and Sociolegal Studies. I regularly organized and hosted study sessions with my peers throughout my undergrad studies, including in my Philosophy and Political Science minor courses. I enjoyed tutoring students to improve their academic writing and nudging students' toward those "eureka moments" during office hours as Teaching Assistant for "Punishment" and "Youth Justice" courses in Crim & Sociolegal Studies. Immediately after completing my M.A. in 2017, I worked for an Indigenous organization, with funding from the Ministry of Attorney General, to develop and coordinate extrajudicial services for Indigenous persons undergoing criminal prosecution in Ontario. These unique diversion and "restorative justice" services were highly well-reputed; several of my written submissions for clients' defense were key in establishing important precedent at local courthouses. I was promoted to Advisor of Justice Programs in 2021. Throughout my 4+ years in these roles, I created and hosted numerous learning materials, presentations, and training sessions related to law, society, and justice reform: R v. Gladue 1999 / Ipeelee 2012, Aboriginal rights in Canada, youth justice, criminal justice vs. restorative justice, and restorative practices when delivering diversion for audiences of program volunteers, community members, staff, interns, lawyers, courtworkers, etc.

I am a native Portuguese speaker (i.e. Lisbonite Portuguese) with a certification in Portuguese Language Fluency from the First Portuguese Canadian Cultural Centre ('FPCCC'). I am also certified to Teach English as a Foreign Language ('TEFL') from U of T's Ontario Institute for Studies in Education ('OISE'), with specialities in Business English and Test Preparation. I am looking to gain more teaching experience as I consider my next career move in academia, whether it involves pursuing a PhD, a second Master's degree, or an equivalent in advocacy or legal practice.

What I most enjoy about teaching, whether high-level material, like with my Community Justice Coordinator role, or everyday-use skills, like with practicing conversational English or Portuguese, is when I get to work one-on-one, understand students' learning goals and personal interests, and cultivate a space where eureka moments can flourish in a low-pressure, personally relevant, authentic, and meaningful way. If we can connect lessons to your favourite episode of Star Trek, a genre of music that speaks to you, a hobby you can't stop talking about, or your trippiest video game experience to date; let's do it.

Connect with a tutor like Diana

Diana’s Qualifications
Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Toronto - Bachelor in Arts, Criminology

Graduate Degree: University of Toronto - Master of Arts, Criminology


I love video games, especially RPGs (Divinity, FF) and Action Adventures (Zelda) and I play a lot in the wintertime; I enjoy reading and creative writing and am part of a book club in Cracow, Poland; I like to practice and learn new languages (I am attempting to learn Polish); I enjoy camping and portaging and enjoy going to the back-country for week-long trips each year; my most favourite thing in the world to do is dance, which I’ve done semi-professionally since I was a child: salsa, swing dancing, and Argentine Tango. I have recently taken Flamenco classes and I took-up belly dancing with a group while in university, too. I’m not much of a musician but I love Portuguese Fado and sometimes play cute ditties on my ukulele and sing to Amalia.

Tutoring Subjects
Canadian French Language Proficiency
Canadian Law
CLEP Introductory Sociology
College English
Constitutional Law
Criminal Law
Elementary School
French 2
High School Writing
Middle School
Middle School English
Middle School Reading
Middle School Social Studies
Middle School Writing
Philosophical Ethics
Professional Certifications
SAT Reading
Social Sciences
Social Studies
TEFL - Teaching English as a Foreign Language
TESOL - Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
Test Prep