Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Stephen

I’m a recent graduate of the University of Puget Sound in Tacoma, WA, where I received a B.A. in psychology. I’m currently working as a research assistant at a social psychology lab at Harvard University. I have experience tutoring and teaching students of various ages, as well as academic and socioeconomic backgrounds. Through the University of Puget Sound, I participated in a program called Access, where tutors such as myself mentored elementary, middle, and high school students underrepresented in higher education. I tutored students in a variety of academic subjects, including math, science, and English.
I also have experience tutoring abroad. I participated in a study abroad program in Milan, Italy, throughout the spring of 2014. During that time, I tutored four children in two different families who primarily spoke Italian. I had to communicate in both English and Italian when teaching writing, math, and basic science.
I was employed as an interdisciplinary Peer Writing Advisor and Peer Statistics Tutor at the University of Puget Sound. I interacted with students with a wide variety of needs; one appointment may have been with a student who needed help on an analytical essay on tragic figures in Greek literature, while another may have been with a student who wanted to learn a two-way between subjects ANOVA, a statistical test commonly used in psychological data analysis.
I recognize that the tutor-tutee interaction is not strictly one-sided nature, and any tutoring appointment is a learning process for both parties. My tutoring style is reflexive, meaning that I tailor my approach to the individual that I am working with. I have experience reading empirical literature on education and tutoring, and understand how this literature can inform my practices as a tutor, such as when I should use directive or nondirective language in an appointment. My experience working with a diverse population of students with vastly different educational and social backgrounds and needs has raised my awareness of the discipline, humility, and enthusiasm that tutoring entails. It is a rare endeavor that is both highly personal and social, and requires a significant attention to detail.

Undergraduate Degree:

 University of Puget Sound - BA, Psychology

SAT Composite: 2140

SAT Math: 700

SAT Writing: 770

Sports, Reading, Music, Hiking