Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Cian

I have lived here is Aurora Colorado for most of my life; I come from a large family of 12 children, and I graduated High school from Cherokee Trail High school with an IB Diploma in 2011. Although I can be pretty laid back most of the time I have always have a drive and passion for academics. I am currently working on a Bachelor's in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Colorado (I currently have an associate's in Mathematics). My most focused subjects are in the Math and Science fields. I have always had a knack for these subjects, and I just love solving, or even creating problems and knowing exactly how the world works. I am also able to help tutoring with ACT or other test prep, or help in any way I can with the IB program.
My current tutoring experience before Varsity Tutors has all been informal tutoring between friends and family and started during my Junior year in High School when I began helping my peers in IB math and chemistry. Outside of work and school I have a wide range of hobbies. I am currently trying to learn another language; I do a lot of reading and have on a few occasions tried my hand at writing; I enjoy music (I dabble in the guitar and help my friend's band with sound work during production on occasion); and I generally enjoy just about anything nerdy. I look forwards to meeting all of you!

Undergraduate Degree:

 University of Colorado Denver - BS, Mechanical Engineering

ACT Composite: 33

ACT English: 32

ACT Math: 35

ACT Reading: 36

Mechanical Engineering/CAD, Music Production, Writing/Reading, Anything Nerdy

10th Grade Math

College Chemistry

College Physics

Elementary School Math

General Chemistry

High School Chemistry

High School Physics

IB Chemistry

IB Design Technology

IB Design Technology HL

IB Design Technology SL

IB Further Mathematics

IB Mathematical Studies

IB Mathematics

IB Physics

Technology and Computer Science

What is your teaching philosophy?

I like to break down any materials to the smallest levels I can for students to grasp the inner workings of problems, not just the final answers. In addition, I like to include examples, diagrams, and anything else I can to illustrate how a particular concept works.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

In a first session, I will try to get to know the student, and make sure the student knows me. In addition to figuring out how the student's work is presented and organized, I like to figure out how the student learns, whether it be by practice, through examples, through explanations, or any other method. I will frequently stop many times in the first session to see if the student has questions (relating directly to the work or not) and if they understand everything; I prefer to get the student feeling like they can always stop me and ask any questions that they may have in the future.

How can you help a student become an independent learner?

A student needs to be able to know how a problem or subject works from the ground up, not just the answers. If the student can start piecing together new types of problems themselves, it will greatly help how they learn.

How would you help a student stay motivated?

Keeping a student involved and active is perhaps the best way to keep them motivated and trying, although they must also know that they can work the problems, and can ask you for help whenever they need. To do this it is best to work practice problems and solve questions alongside the student, asking them questions as you work, and keeping you both involved.

If a student has difficulty learning a skill or concept, what would you do?

I think illustrations, analogies and examples work best when a student has a hard time grasping something immediately; breaking the problem into relatable concepts helps the student truly internalize what the problem is.