ASWB : Impact of life stressors on systems

Study concepts, example questions & explanations for ASWB

varsity tutors app store varsity tutors android store

Example Questions

Example Question #1 : Advanced Generalist Examination

Which of the following accurately displays the order of the five stages of grief/loss?

Possible Answers:

None of these

Anger, denial, bargaining, acceptance, and depression 

Denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance 

Depression, anger, denial, bargaining, and acceptance

Correct answer:

None of these


There are five stages of grief/loss that are generally accepted by professionals:Denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. According to this model, an individual who is grieving will initially deny the reality of the situation. Afterwards, they will become angry when they realize the reality of the situation. The next step is bargaining. This is where the linearity of the model is challenged. People may bargain with a higher power to spare a loved one and then may revert to the earlier stages of anger and denial; furthermore, guilt is associated with bargaining and can reappear long after the loss. It it important to note that individuals may repeat stages or challenge the order of this model in an infinite number of ways. Likewise, there is no time standard on grief because individuals can pass through the stages in a flash or over a period of years. Post bargaining, an individual may come depressed and an individual is said to have overcome the loss when they have accepted it and moved on with their life; thus, there is no accurate order to this model. 

Learning Tools by Varsity Tutors