1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Laura

Expert online tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Laura, a tutor from Mt. St. Mary's University

Laura

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a graduate of Mt. St. Marys University with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Foreign Languages, emphasis on Spanish. I am half Spanish, half American, and while I was born in the United States, from the time I was eight years old until I was nearly through with college we lived in Brazil, Korea, and Spain. This was an enriching and amazing experience, giving me an appreciation for all kinds of cultures and allowing me to deepen my knowledge of the Spanish language and culture. Later on through my work at the Smithsonian Institution, I had the opportunity to travel to Bolivia, Panama, and Puerto Rico which gave me further insight into other Spanish speaking cultures.

I first started tutoring while in college and discovered I had a knack for it often having other students request me by name. I would make charts or diagrams to organize and simplify the subject material to better communicate a concept to the student.

In 2013, I started tutoring privately in Spanish, various levels. I enjoy getting to know the individual student's personality and help the student appreciate the ways that they are smart and feel empowered and more confident as they tackle each challenge they encounter. I love when they have that ah-ha moment when things finally make sense! When possible, I also try to insert tidbits or stories from my life in Spain, or little fun tips for pronunciation just to make things more interesting and relevant to the student. In my spare time I enjoy reading, eating out with family and friends, and music/dance.

Connect with a tutor like Laura

Laura’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Mt. St. Mary's University - Bachelor in Arts, Foreign Languages

Hobbies

Reading, eating out with friends/family, music and latin dancing

Tutoring Subjects

Conversational Spanish

Languages

Spanish

Spanish 1

Spanish 2

Spanish 3

Spanish 4

Connect with a tutor like Laura