1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Ilyas

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Ilyas, a tutor from University of Virginia-Main Campus

Ilyas

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

Hi there! I'm a part-time graduate student studying public health and data science at NYU, and in undergrad, I double majored in anthropology and biology at UVA. I'm originally from the Washington, DC area, but I currently live in NYC where I work as a research analyst at a healthcare real estate investment trust.

My first job at 16 sparked my passion for teaching, when I was a math instructor at Mathnasium. I taught all levels of math through Calculus AB/BC to students ages 4-19. I've had the opportunity to gain more experience since, TA'ing chemistry in college and even getting to design and teach my own 2-credit anthropology seminar.

I hope to instill the understanding that learning is lifelong and gradual, and I believe students deserve patience and respect while they navigate their own learning styles -- I'm excited to work alongside other passionate and curious minds while helping you ace your exams in the process :)

Connect with a tutor like Ilyas

Ilyas’ Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Virginia-Main Campus - Bachelor in Arts, Anthropology

Undergraduate Degree: University of Virginia-Main Campus - Bachelor in Arts, Biology, General

Graduate Degree: New York University - Master in Public Health, Public Health

Hobbies

In terms of my teaching interests, I enjoy working with students as they grasp fundamental math concepts, including everything through Algebra, Geometry, Pre-Calculus/Trig, and Statistics. I'm also deeply passionate about biology, chemistry, and the social sciences. During my free-time (when I have it), I love reading, visiting my family, and exploring the city with friends. I'm also a jazz/improv pianist-- you might find me playing around NYC on occasion!

Tutoring Subjects

Algebra

Anthropology

Biology

Elementary School

Elementary School Math

Elementary Social Studies

Math

Middle School

Middle School Math

Other

Pre-Algebra

Social Sciences

Social Studies

Statistics

Connect with a tutor like Ilyas