1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Elise

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Elise, a tutor from University of Kentucky


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I have been tutoring since 2009, and I enjoy working with students of all ages. I love the learning process and share that enthusiasm with my students. I believe in meeting students where they are, keeping things fun, and maintaining student-friendly records so we can track our progress. My students have described me as kind, helpful, and a good teacher.

I have the following degrees and qualifications:
- MA in Teaching
- BA in English
- BA in Anthropology
- Minor in Spanish (semester at Universidad San Francisco de Quito, Ecuador)
- Professional Educator's License for Middle Grades Literacy
- National Merit Scholar
- Rochelle Lee Teaching Awardee
- 4 years of experience teaching middle school English classes

After receiving my MA in Teaching, I began working as a teacher in Chicago Public Schools. I witnessed how the standard classroom setting did not fully meet many students' needs. I wanted to use my skills to meet the unique needs of individual learners, which led me to back to my first love: tutoring.

Connect with a tutor like Elise

Elise’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Kentucky - Bachelor in Arts, Anthropology

Graduate Degree: National Louis University - Master of Arts Teaching, Education


I love reading all kinds of books. I am on track to read 52 books in 2022! I'm an outdoorsy person who spends time gardening, camping, and going on walks whenever I get the chance. I also have a houseplant obsession. I'm building my knowledge of African music. I have been playing the mbira for a few years and recently started playing the djembe. I love pets. I currently have two cuddly cats, and I dream of getting a dog. Whether it's discussing current events, philosophy, pop culture, food, or something else, I love talking with people and learning about what's important to them.

Tutoring Subjects

ACT English

ACT Reading

ACT Writing



AP Calculus BC

AP US History

College English

Conversational Spanish

Elementary School

Elementary School English

Elementary School Math


English Grammar and Syntax


GED Prep

GED Reasoning Through Language Arts


High School English




Middle School

Middle School English

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Social Studies

Middle School Writing



PSAT Critical Reading

PSAT Writing Skills



Social Sciences

Social Studies


Spanish 1

Spanish 2

Spanish 3

Spanish 4

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Test Prep


Connect with a tutor like Elise