1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Dena

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Dena, a tutor from Chicago State University

Dena

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I have a B.A. in Psychology with a minor in Early Childhood Education, a M.A. in Religion with a concentration in Biblical Studies with 18 hours in Theology and a 120 hour TESOL. I have 4 years experience teaching English as an Online ESL teacher to children in China, Japan, and Taiwan, ages 3 to 18, and experience teaching in the classroom as a teacher assistant and mixed 1st and 2nd grade teacher, a babysitter, and Sunday school teacher. I have taught English Language Arts, Math, Social Studies, Science, Reading, Vocabulary, Grammar, Phonics, Spelling and Handwriting.

I believe learning should be student centered, fun, and engaging in a collaborative learning environment where students interact with their peers. This will help students obtain knowledge as they develop their critical thinking and problem-solving skills while being a lifelong learner at accomplishing their academic goals.

Teaching is my passion and I will be offering Tutoring services for a variety of subjects here at Varsity Tutors.

K-5: Elementary School Reading, English, Math, Writing, Science, ESL, Phonics, Religion, Social Sciences, and Spelling Bee.

6-8th: English, ESL, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Religion, Social Sciences, Spelling Bee

High School &College: Religion/Theology

Connect with a tutor like Dena

Dena’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Chicago State University - Bachelor in Arts, Psychology

Graduate Degree: Liberty University - Master of Arts, Theology

Hobbies

My hobbies are drawing, coloring in adult coloring books, reading, playing computer games, watching movies, visiting the Museum of Science and Industry and spending time with my family and friends.

Tutoring Subjects

Elementary School English

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Science

Elementary School Writing

English

ESL/ELL

Math

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Phonics

Reading

Religion

Science

Social Sciences

Theology

Writing

Connect with a tutor like Dena