1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Kara

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Kara, a tutor from University of Virginia-Main Campus

Kara

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am an undergraduate student at the University of Virginia (UVA) originally from Fairfield, Connecticut. I am pursuing my Bachelor of Arts in Biology and Global Public Health on the pre-med track with the hopes of becoming a physician (hopefully in pediatrics). At UVA, I am involved in youth mentoring as a Program Director of "GEMS" (Girls Excited about Math and Science), where I teach exciting lessons and conduct experiments with a class of elementary school girls in a variety of scientific topics, while I am also the Head Program Director of Youth Mentoring at UVA. I was also involved in tutoring throughout high school, where I worked with a group of special needs students. While I tutor in a broad range of subjects, I am most passionate about English, Science (especially Biology and Chemistry), and Humanities, which are most strongly reflected in my own studies. In my experience in the areas of reading and writing in particular, strong literary thinking skills helped me to be more creative and set myself apart in many of my applications to college, so I am passionate about helping students of any age to become stronger writers. I am also passionate about enhancing students' skills in critical thinking, especially through STEM topics, which can set students up for success in any difficult course or standardized test. I hope to instill a strong appreciation for education and learning within each of my students, and I believe that the first step is to help students feel more confident in their areas of interest while setting goals for the future. In my spare time, I enjoy hiking and being outdoors, traveling, painting, and playing soccer.

Connect with a tutor like Kara

Kara’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Virginia-Main Campus - Bachelor in Arts, Biology, General

Test Scores

SAT Composite (1600 scale): 1420

SAT Math: 700

SAT Verbal: 720

Hobbies

- Art (drawing and painting especially) - Watching sports (especially basketball, soccer, and baseball) - Playing soccer - Cheering on the UVA teams and attending games (especially football and basketball) - Hiking and being outdoors - Swimming and going to the beach - Playing with my dog Scout :) - Reading - Watching Netflix - Traveling

Tutoring Subjects

Admissions

AP Biology

Biology

Biostatistics

Cell Biology

College Application Essays

College Biology

College English

Elementary School

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Science

Elementary School Writing

English

Essay Editing

High School English

Immunology

Learning Differences

Medicine

Microbiology

Middle School

Middle School English

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing

Molecular Genetics

Other

Public Health

Reading

Science

Special Education

Spelling Bee

Writing

Connect with a tutor like Kara