1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Kate

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Kate, a tutor from Hope College

Kate

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I received my B.A. in Communications and French from Hope College in Holland, MI. I decided to pursue a degree in French not because I had my heart set on teaching in a classroom setting, but simply because I couldn't get enough of studying language! My undergrad years included a semester abroad at the University of Rennes II in Brittany, France, where I studied French literature, journalism, translation, and pronunciation. During my undergrad, I worked as a French tutor in one-on-one settings, as well as a teaching assistant for a French course, independently leading a weekly class that followed their professor's curriculum and provided additional space for practice.

Since graduating in 2014, I have spent 4 years living and working in francophone West Africa, including 1 year of total language immersion in a professional setting. Along the way, I have loved any opportunity to encourage others in their language learning goals, whether in French or English. I love seeing people enjoy the confusing, convivial, humbling, and eye-opening experience of learning and using a foreign language!

Aside from tutoring, I've found opportunities to use French in my community by volunteering as a translator and interpreter for asylum seekers. I currently volunteer as an assistant in a weekly online ESL (English as a Second Language) class.

In the past, I have worn more professional hats that I can count, but I can't remember having a job I didn't like. I have prepared coffee, catered wedding banquets, coordinated activities for a senior living community, and sold rain gear and climbing equipment at an outdoor sports retailer. Most recently, I've worked as the Executive Assistant for a medical NGO in West Africa.

Connect with a tutor like Kate

Kate’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Hope College - Bachelor in Arts, French Studies

Test Scores

ACT Composite: 30

ACT English: 35

ACT Math: 33

AP Chemistry: 3

AP Calculus AB: 5

AP English Literature: 4

AP English Language: 4

AP European History: 3

Hobbies

I love living in Minnesota, because as soon as I'm starting to get tired of jogging and biking for exercise, then BAM--it's cross-country ski season! In my spare time, I also enjoy knitting, video editing, and playing games like Codenames (fueled by my fondness for words/language, I guess!) Thanks to my dad's vast record collection, I grew up listening to a wide range of music genres, and personally enjoy playing guitar and singing. Aside from French, I have also studied a bit of Italian and Spanish, and love picking up useful phrases wherever I go, whether in Fongbe (Benin), Wolof (Senegal), or Susu (Guinea).

Tutoring Subjects

Connect with a tutor like Kate