1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Jill

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Jill, a tutor from Minnesota State University Moorhead


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I tutor because I want to help make a difference for students. In the past few years, I have spent much of my time tutoring learners on how to become better writers and speakers.

My Master's degree is in Teaching English as a Second Language/Applied Linguistics from the University if Minnesota, and my undergraduate degree is in Chinese Studies from Minnesota State University - Moorhead.

Although I have taught at the university level in the United States for more than 20 years, I have successfully tutored students in grades 1-12 plus adult learners in the following areas: writing, reading, spelling, English pronunciation, English grammar, mathematics, and biology in addition to improving study skills including time management and test preparation.

Former tutoring clients have described me as "friendly, dedicated, kind, and fun." I am looking forward to assisting you with your academic needs, whether it be in assisting you with writing an essay, developing your thesis statement, or using either MLA or APA format!

I also specialize in working with the writing of multilingual learners.

I look forward to meeting you soon!

Connect with a tutor like Jill

Jill’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Minnesota State University Moorhead - Bachelor in Arts, Chinese Studies

Graduate Degree: University of Minnesota-Twin Cities - Master of Arts, Teaching English as a Second Language (ESL)


My major interests are photography, learning additional languages (my native language is American English, and my second language is Mandarin Chinese. I have also studied Japanese, Hindi, German, French, and Portuguese), and travelling. When I am not teaching or tutoring, you will find me at a state park taking photos of nature or volunteering with a food pantry or hanging out with my friends.

Tutoring Subjects

Academic Coaching





ACCUPLACER ESL - Reading Skills

ACCUPLACER ESL - Sentence Meaning



Adult Literacy

American Literature


Business Ethics

Business Writing

College Application Essays

College English

College Level American Literature

College World History

Dissertation Writing

Elementary School

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing


English Grammar and Syntax


Essay Editing

High School English



Social Studies

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Test Prep


Connect with a tutor like Jill