1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Juliette

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Juliette, a tutor from University of Northern Colorado

Juliette

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I attended the University of Northern Colorado for my undergraduate studies and graduated with a Bachelor of Music and Business Administration minor in 2017. I went on to the Eastman School of Music at the University of Rochester for my graduate studies, receiving a Masters of Music and Arts Leadership Certificate in 2019. I aspire to someday become a full-time bassoonist in an orchestra.
For as long as I can remember, I have enjoyed pursuing academic excellence and helping others do the same. I firmly believe that my academic pursuits (and the individuals who encouraged me along the way) opened doors in my life and career, and I find great value in helping others do the same. By the time I graduated from high school, I had proofread countless papers for classmates and spent hours tutoring them on various subjects. I set up and led study groups, helped peers work through specific homework questions, looked over drafts of projects, and shared test strategies. As a native French speaker, I tutored younger children at a local French immersion elementary school starting when I was in middle school.
In college, my interest in tutoring continued. During the early years of my undergraduate studies, I helped so many of my peers with music theory and history that faculty approached me about becoming the School of Music's official tutor for all undergraduate music academics. I held this position for two years, during which I learned to tutor a varied student body. I received trainings from the university's tutoring center, and as my skills as a tutor increased, so did my appreciation for the work of tutoring. Some of my tutoring students asked to keep working with me even after I graduated and moved across the country.
During my graduate studies, I turned my focus to classroom teaching as part of an assistantship. I taught undergraduates about educating others in how to play woodwind instruments, continuing to lead study groups for my peers in academic areas like music history. Starting during my masters and continuing in the year since my graduation, I have pursued freelance editing for college students. Proofreading and content editing papers and dissertations has helped me maintain my writing and English skills, and encouraged me to seek out information about different citation styles. While I now tutor a range of subjects, I am most passionate about music, French, and English. I love the potential for communication and creativity that languages and the arts provide.
My tutoring approach focuses on meeting the student where they are as a learner, and helping them grow and gain awareness of their needs and strengths. I am flexible in my explanation of concepts, working with students' individual learning styles. I help students gain confidence in their abilities and foster an atmosphere where they can experiment without fear of reprimand. We focus on the process of learning and increasing self awareness, setting relevant and genuine goals. Ultimately, I strive to teach my students to teach themselves. The more they take ownership of their progress, the more they will get out of tutoring.
In my spare time, I enjoy listening to music and podcasts, knitting gifts for my family, and spending time with my cat!

Connect with a tutor like Juliette

Juliette’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Northern Colorado - Bachelor in Arts, Music Performance

Graduate Degree: University of Rochester - Master of Arts, Music Performance

Test Scores

ACT Composite: 35

ACT English: 36

ACT Math: 32

ACT Reading: 36

ACT Science: 35

SAT Composite (1600 scale): 1480

SAT Math: 710

SAT Writing: 770

Hobbies

I am a professional bassoonist, specializing in an odd woodwind instrument with which few people are familiar. When I’m not tutoring, listening to music, or practicing my instrument, I love to knit gifts for my family and listen to podcasts! I also like to spend time with my cat, Jasper, and trying out new recipes. My family immigrated to the United States from France when I was young, so I’m always on the lookout for good books and movies in French.

Connect with a tutor like Juliette