1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Santiago

Expert online tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Santiago, a tutor from Duke University

Santiago

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a rising senior at Duke University majoring in Psychology and minoring in English. I first started tutoring when I was 10; I'd explain new words in books to my little sister and help her with cursive, work on times tables with my older brother, and teach the little bit of English I knew to my immigrant parents. I tutored students in my middle school through a counseling program, helped deaf and disabled students develop social and creative skills, and freelance tutored throughout high school, and have tutored Spanish-speaking immigrant families (ages 6-12) in Durham, NC since October 2018. Other teaching experiences include training my dog to go down a slide on command and teaching my 10th-grade precalculus teacher how to hand whistle. Though I tutor a broad range of subjects, I am most passionate about English, Literature, and Writing. I believe reading and writing are not only complex forms of thinking, but avenues for understanding someone else's unique perspective and ways of being in life. I have the most fun helping my students dissect arguments and meaning from texts, especially when it's in Spanish, my native language. When I'm not tutoring, I most likely am listening to music, playing board games with my family, or looking at cat videos online.

Connect with a tutor like Santiago

Santiago’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Duke University - Bachelor in Arts, Psychology

Test Scores

ACT Composite: 32

ACT English: 35

ACT Math: 31

ACT Reading: 33

SAT Composite (1600 scale): 1440

SAT Math: 720

SAT Verbal: 720

Hobbies

I have a passion for music, nature, and self-help/mindfulness. I've played the piano for almost 13 years now and started making beats on my laptop with my best friend last year. I spend an obscene amount of time on Spotify and thoroughly enjoy figuring out peoples' personalities based on their music taste. I also love going to concerts, especially when they're cheap. I've been getting more into hiking lately, mainly because it's the best way to see (and, thus pet) a ridiculous amount of puppies. Studying psychology has led me to practice mindfulness often and enjoying the present moment. I've researched habit-building and emotional hygiene a lot and try to incorporate my knowledge of self-development into my own life and into helping others. I'm also not bad at dancing or ping pong and am planning on fostering one or two kittens next year.

Tutoring Subjects

ACT Writing

Algebra

American Literature

AP Research

AP Seminar

College English

College Level American Literature

Conversational Spanish

English

Essay Editing

Geometry

High School English

High School Level American Literature

High School Writing

Languages

Math

Other

Spanish

Test Prep

Writing

Connect with a tutor like Santiago