A photo of Andrea, a tutor from Arizona State University

Andrea

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I have an associate in arts, which I received from Glendale Community College. I am currently finishing my bachelors in education at Arizona State University, and I plan on teaching middle school mathematics. I have interned in numerous classrooms and with various grade levels. I have worked with small groups of students as well as a whole class. I am familiar with the traditional ways of teaching subjects as well as common core standards, specifically in math. I tutor in Math, English, Reading, and Writing, although my favorite subject to tutor in is math, because I am going to be a math teacher. I enjoy helping students and my goal for math, is not to make students love math, but to be able to understand math, and all other subjects I tutor in as well. My teaching philosophy can be described as practicing math over and over until it becomes second nature. I also believe it is important to understand the process in math and not just remembering problems or getting answers. It is important to understand how and why you solve problems a certain way to fully understand mathematics, and that is why I believe in teaching reasoning and logic in math. My tutoring style can be described as one where I will constantly question and ask my students what they are doing. If they can answer in detail and explain their reasoning and logic in math, then that is how I know they fully understand the content they are learning. I will not just give the answers when a student is stuck, I will guide with questions, use background knowledge and relate new content to what students have already learned, because I will be looking to my students to be able to find the solution themselves. I feel this is the best approach when I tutor, because it will be more rewarding for the students when they figure out the problems with guidance from me. When I am not tutoring, I enjoy taking my husky puppy to the park, and hanging out with my family. I also play in a softball league with my sister and brothers on Sunday, and I enjoy catching up on some of my favorite Netflix shows in my down time.

Andrea’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Arizona State University - Current Undergrad Student, Elementary School Teaching

Hobbies

Mentoring, basketball, softball, hiking, animal care, traveling, crosswords, child care, music, cooking, pet care

Tutoring Subjects

Algebra

Civics

College Algebra

Elementary School Math

English

High School English

College Math

Math

Middle School English

Middle School Math

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Pre-Algebra

Social Sciences