1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Catherine E.

Personalized Learning • Professional Tutoring

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Catherine E., a tutor from Harcum College FIU

Catherine E.

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I was born in New Jersey, and I am a native English speaker. Before beginning my carrier as an educator, I obtained an A.S. degree in Animal Science and worked as a veterinary technician for ten years. Moving to South Florida in 1997 provided me with many exciting opportunities, one of them being educating children and adults from many different countries and cultures. I began tutoring English as a Second Language ESOL in 2001 while hosting a foreign exchange student, and I have taught children, adults, business executives, homemakers, and college-bound students since that time. I have extensive experience in teaching all levels of ESOL, accent reduction, conversation classes, business English, reading, and writing as well as TOEFL test prep. Working as an editor, translator, and interpreter keeps my grammar and editing skills sharp, which comes in very handy when tutoring students in English. Although my passion is in teaching languages, I also enjoy tutoring grammar school students in whatever area of difficulty they may be struggling with at school and seeing them overcome obstacles to obtain better grades. Lessons are always tailored to the students needs and learning styles.
Having raised four children, I feel quite at home working with little ones. Their boundless energy and inquisitiveness makes these classes especially fun and interesting to teach. I believe all class sessions should be interactive and engaging, regardless of the age of the student, and I always try to inject energy and enthusiasm into the equation, hoping it will be contagious. I love to see both children and adults progress in their academic skills, which gives them confidence in every area of their lives.
After obtaining a Bachelor of Arts degree in Spanish in 2006 from Florida International University, with a minor in translation and certificates in interpreting and translation, I also began tutoring/teaching Spanish. I have had the privilege of teaching High School Spanish 1 to a homeschool group, and I currently tutor business executives and children in learning Spanish as a foreign language. Having learned a second language as an adult, I have a unique perspective into the needs of students who may be struggling with learning a second language or using it in their work or school environment.
In my free time, I enjoy horseback riding, CrossFit, triathlon races, and spending time with family.

Connect with a tutor like Catherine E.

Catherine E.’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Harcum College FIU - Bachelor in Arts, Spanish

Hobbies

Horseback riding, CrossFit, Triathlons, spending time with family

Tutoring Subjects

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing

English

English Grammar and Syntax

ESL/ELL

Essay Editing

High School English

High School Writing

Languages

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing

Phonics

Spanish

Spanish 1

Spanish 2

Spelling Bee

Test Prep

TOEFL Prep

Writing


Connect with a tutor like Catherine E.