A photo of Julia, a tutor from University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus

Julia

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I have been tutoring for the past 4 years. I volunteered for a tutoring organization in college, and upon graduating worked for a tutoring company in my hometown.
I graduated from the University of Pittsburgh in 2014 where I completed degrees in Chinese as well as Communications. Afterwards, I worked in a special education classroom for students who were deaf or hard of hearing. Currently, I work in a Kindergarten classroom part time while working on completing my Masters in Early Childhood Education.

Working with children is truly my passion. I started young, babysitting and working at multiple camps. Now as an adult I have had many opportunities to teach in a classroom setting as well as in a tutoring setting. I am always happy to go the extra mile and help with anything, not just the subjects where I specialize. If I don't know the answer to something I'm happy to do the research and figure it out. I'm also happy to adapt my lessons and methods to fit the student and their learning style.

I lived abroad in China for three years. This is where I first learned to speak Mandarin. After moving back to the states I did my best to keep up my language skills by taking classes at night. When I attended college I not only learned about the Chinese language (reading, writing, & speaking) but I also learned about Chinese literature and culture. I was one of 8 other students to graduate with a Chinese degree. I have many resources at my disposal to help assist any student who is in need of Chinese language assistance.

I have always felt the most confident in my English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, and over all Humanities throughout my entire educational career. I worked as the editor of my schools newspaper and I spent a lot of time reading and writing in my spare time.

I am very flexible when it comes to what subjects and material needs to be taught or reviewed. If I don't know the answer to your problem right away I will do everything in my power to find it, and to provide you with the necessary resources and tools to help you. I am used to working with all types of learners and all ages. I am happy to tailor my lessons to suit the various different learning styles out there.

Julia’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus - Bachelors, Chinese, Communications

Graduate Degree: Drexel University - Current Grad Student, Early Childhood Education

Hobbies

Reading, Cooking, Biking, Hiking, Running

Tutoring Subjects

AP Chinese Language and Culture

College English

Conversational Mandarin

Elementary School

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing

English

English Grammar and Syntax

ESL/ELL

Essay Editing

High School English

High School Writing

ISEE Prep

ISEE- Lower Level

Languages

Mandarin Chinese

Mandarin Chinese 1

Mandarin Chinese 2

Mandarin Chinese 3

Mandarin Chinese 4

Other

Phonics

Public Speaking

SSAT Prep

SSAT- Elementary Level

Test Prep

Writing