1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Amy

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Amy, a tutor from University of Cincinnati-Main Campus


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

For the past six years, I've worked as a private nanny and tutor for several families in the Cincinnati area. I have experience with kids ranging in age from 5 through 17. As expected when working with such a broad range of age groups, I've also covered a variety of subject matter, from elementary reading to AP biology.

Fortunately, helping kids achieve their best in school afforded me the opportunity to pursue my own education. I graduated cum laude from University of Cincinnati in 2015 with my Bachelor of Science in Nutrition and Dietetics. Because of my background in the sciences, my favorite subjects to tutor are the life sciences, especially biology; however, I also have experience working with students in English and reading, both as general subjects and in preparation for the ACT.

If there's one life lesson that my college career taught me, it's the importance of critical thinking not only for success in the classroom, but success in life beyond the classroom as well. I try to encourage the use of critical thinking and analytical skills in all of my tutoring sessions to challenge students to utilize the knowledge they already have to come up with answers they may be unsure about originally. This ensures that students fully comprehend the subject matter, so that they aren't just memorizing and regurgitating for a test. This style of teaching also allows me to really engage even the shyest of students, and most importantly, have fun!

When I'm not teaching kids the importance of thinking outside the box, I really enjoy being active and working out. In high school, I played basketball and volleyball competitively, which carried over into a lifelong love of fitness and health. Somewhat contradictorily, I also love cooking (and eating), and will be participating in a recreational Culinary Certificate course at Cincinnati State in the fall. Not to be a total cliche, but my third favorite hobby is traveling. In college, I spent nine weeks backpacking through Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos. My next trip on the books is to Austin, Texas, to experience the Austin City Limits Music and Cultural Festival. If I'm not cooking at home, eating a strange food on a foreign continent, or trying to work off the calories from both those endeavors, you can usually find me hanging out at the dog park with my border collie.

Connect with a tutor like Amy

Amy’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Cincinnati-Main Campus - Bachelors, Dietetics

Test Scores

ACT English: 33

ACT Reading: 34

ACT Science: 31


Cooking (more importantly Eating), Travel, Fitness and Working Out, Yoga, Camping, Dogs (specifically my dog, Maybe)

Tutoring Subjects

ACT English

ACT Science

Advanced Placement Prep

AP Biology


College Biology

College English


High School Biology

High School English

Life Sciences





Test Prep

Connect with a tutor like Amy