A photo of Abby, a tutor from Brown University

Abby

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am about to graduate from Brown University with a B.A. in Education Studies. I love working with students one-on-one and helping them feel like they can tackle challenging material. In the past I have tutored elementary school students in English and Math, middle school students in English as a second language, and helped peers in an informal context. My experiences teaching visual art and dance classes have also helped me develop creative and engaging ways to present information. While I tutor many different subjects, I am particularly excited about working with students on writing and French. I have studied French for 11 years and lived abroad in a Francophone country, and I am a total geek when it comes to French grammar. Similarly, I love playing with and examining the English language, whether in preparation for the reading section of a Standardized Test or for a college essay. I believe that students learn best when they are able to uncover the “why,” not just the “what,” and it is my goal to create an environment where students feel comfortable asking questions and making mistakes. In my free time, I enjoy making pottery, swing dancing, and experimenting in the kitchen.

Abby’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Brown University - Bachelors, Education Studies

Test Scores

SAT Composite: 2380

SAT Math: 800

SAT Verbal: 800

SAT Writing: 780

SAT Mathematics Level 2: 800

SAT Subject Test in Biology E/M: 760

Hobbies

Ceramics, swing dancing, cooking, travel

Tutoring Subjects

Algebra

Algebra 2

Arithmetic

College Algebra

College English

College Essays

Conversational French

Elementary Math

Elementary School Math

English

English Grammar and Syntax

Essay Editing

French

French 1

French 2

French 3

French 4

High School English

Homework Support

ISEE Prep

ISEE- Lower Level

ISEE- Middle Level

Languages

Math

Middle School Math

Other

Pre-Algebra

PSAT Prep

PSAT Critical Reading

PSAT Mathematics

PSAT Writing Skills

Reading

SAT Prep

SAT Math

SAT Mathematics

SAT Reading

SAT Subject Test in French

SAT Subject Test in French with Listening

SAT Subject Tests Prep

SAT Writing and Language

SSAT Prep

SSAT- Elementary Level

SSAT- Middle Level

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Summer

Test Prep

Writing