A photo of James, a tutor from Florida International University

James

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

Throughout my undergraduate college career, I have found a passion in tutoring and teaching. Imparting knowledge, as well as guiding individuals in the right direction with regards to achieving their academic goals are two things that make me happy. I have had the experience of teaching and tutoring children from the age of 4 years old to the age of 17 years old in both the United States and China; such a wide range of age and culture has allowed me to develop an adaptive approach to tutoring individuals. My strength, with regards to tutoring for the varsity program would be in the International Baccalaureate subjects, because of the fact that I have gone through the program myself and have also received the diploma. In addition to that, my education includes a BA in International Relations, a minor in East Asian Studies, a second minor in Hospitality Management, and a certificate in Chinese Studies.

As a seasoned, adaptable, and patient tutor I strive to work together with my students, in order to help them achieve the best learning experience possible. I hope to serve as an effective guide on the path that is their academic learning process; should they encounter any obstacles or bumps, I will be there to help them effectively get past them. My student's success is my success.

James’ Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Florida International University - Bachelors, International Relations

Hobbies

In my spare time, I am an avid learner, in the same way my students would be. I study both Mandarin and Spanish, in order to develop hard skills for my future career. Additionally, as a fitness enthusiast, my day wouldn't be complete with some sort of resistance or cardio workout.

Tutoring Subjects

AP United States History

AP US History

AP World History

College English

College Essays

Comparative Literature

English

ESL/ELL

Essay Editing

High School English

Homework Support

IB Extended Essay

IB History

IB History HL

IB History SL

IB Theatre HL

IB Theatre SL

Literature

Other

Psychology

SAT Writing and Language

Social Sciences

Social studies

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Test Prep

Writing