Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Maggie

I am a freshman at Amherst College. When I'm not in class, I spend my time reading, playing club soccer, and rowing for the Amherst Women's Crew team. Some of my favorite authors are David Sedaris, Vladimir Nabokov, Kurt Vonnegut, and Raymond Carver. I'm interested in majoring in statistics and psychology, though I also enjoy learning about sociology, economics, and english. I have one sister, Devyn, who goes to school in Iowa. I am a great tutor because I am patient, understanding, and have years of experience in many different subjects. I also know many useful tips and skills which can be useful during standardized tests especially, since I have taken (and scored well on) the SATs, AMC, and MCAS many times.

Undergraduate Degree:

Amherst College - Current Undergrad, Statistics

SAT Composite: 2370

SAT Math: 800

SAT Verbal: 770

SAT Writing: 800

SAT Subject Test in Literature: 740

Soccer and rowing

AP US History

Business

College Business

College English

Comparative Literature

Conversational Mandarin

High School Business

High School English

Mandarin Chinese 1

Mandarin Chinese 3

US History

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

In a typical first session, I would meet the student and see what they wanted to work on and how they learn best. Then I would make a specific plan with the student to cover the material they wanted to focus on.

What types of materials do you typically use during a tutoring session?

Depending on the focus on the session, I might use a notebook, colored writing instruments, a calculator, and a ruler.

What is your teaching philosophy?

I think it is important to be patient and understanding.