A photo of Emily, a tutor from The University of Texas at Austin

Emily

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

Hello,

My name is Emily. I'm a third year student in pharmacy school at the University of Houston College of Pharmacy. I have a bachelors degree in English from the University of Texas and English is my area of specialty. I have been in the academic world for a very long time and at this point in my life I'd like to help other students achieve the same goals. I can tutor you in English, SAT verbal, and essay writing. I am also very knowledgeable about admission processes for graduate school, especially pharmacy. I like to teach, to explain, and to tutor students. I have plenty of tutoring experience; I have taught for Kumon Learning Center and for the AmeriCorps. But most of all, I know how hard it is being a student, because I am one! I love learning and I consider it a gift to learn something new everyday. So let me teach you something new!

Emily’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: The University of Texas at Austin - Bachelor in Arts, English

Graduate Degree: University of Houston - PHD, Pharmacy

Test Scores

SAT Composite: 1220

SAT Math: 520

SAT Verbal: 700

Hobbies

Corgis, reading, writing, exercising, gardening, cooking, and watching movies/ anime.

Tutoring Subjects


Q & A

What is your teaching philosophy?

Knowledge is a thing to be shared. If I'm teaching you something and you don't understand, then I haven't shared it with you well enough.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

Introduce ourselves, discuss our hobbies and interests, and discuss the overall goals of the student and what he/she would like to accomplish in the long term.