1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Jessica

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Jessica, a tutor from Purdue University


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I graduated from Purdue University with a Bachelor of Arts in English Education. I pursued a career as an English teacher because I absolutely love to read and discuss literature, and study the complex and beautiful structure of the English language. After graduation, I taught English at both the middle and high school levels. In these positions, I crafted the skills necessary to effectively teach reading, writing, vocabulary, and grammatical skills. I have experience working with students of all abilities and skill sets. I have also been an academic mentor to first-generation college students and college student-athletes, providing academic support in the areas of organization and study skills.

I truly believe the search of knowledge is the greatest adventure life can offer. It begins with the foundations of curiosity and wonder, and these are pursuitss one must not abandon in adulthood. I describe myself as a life-long learner, as I try to learn something new every single day. Learning can improve your life in so many ways. My favorite part of teaching is when a student who has struggled to grasp a concept finally has the "AHA!" moment. In that moment, he or she feels the pride and satisfaction of obtaining knowledge, and the hopefully begins to love learning. I understand that every person learns in their own way, which is why I work hard to get to know my students. I try different teaching strategies and styles until I find what works best for the student.

In my spare time, I enjoy reading mystery novels, collecting and listening to vinyl records, playing with my dog, watching college sports, and traveling.

Connect with a tutor like Jessica

Jessica’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Purdue University - Bachelor in Arts, English Education


Reading, collecting vinyl records, watching college sports, exploring new places, playing with my dog

Tutoring Subjects

College English

Comparative Literature


Essay Editing

High School English

Homework Support




SAT Reading

SAT Writing and Language

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization


Test Prep


Q & A

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

In a typical first session, I would spend some time getting to know the student-- his/her interests, hobbies, study habits, favorite and least favorite subjects, etc. Then, I would thoroughly review the academic needs of the student and set academic goals. Finally, I would develop a plan to help the student achieve his/her academic goals.

How can you help a student become an independent learner?

I encourage students to be advocates.

Connect with a tutor like Jessica