A photo of John, a tutor from Occidental College

John

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I went to Occidental College for a Bachelor of Arts in Politics, Cleveland State University for my Teaching License and Master of Education, with certifications in Special Education Lindamood Bell Phonics and Reading Instruction. I have experience teaching for seven years, working with students from Elementary school through High school. I have experience tutoring one on one with High school math, social studies, and English, as well as small group tutoring with elementary students working on reading and writing. I have also worked with elementary students on phonics and reading comprehension in private tutoring.
I am confident tutoring Phonics, Writing, English, Grammar and Mechanics Arithmetic, Pre-Algebra, Math, Reading, Social Studies, American History, and Special Education

I believe that all students have the right and ability to learn. It is my job to find a teaching strategy that will give my students access and understanding of skills and concepts. A teacher and student should be partners in learning and both contribute to the learning environment.

I enjoy Reading, Mysteries, Nonfiction, and Science Fiction. I also like sports, including Golf, Swimming, Soccer, All Cleveland Professional Teams, and Skiing. For entertainment, I watch Action and Adventure Movies, Comic Book Movies, and Pokemon, and I listen to Top 40 Music.

John’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Occidental College - Bachelor in Arts, Politics

Graduate Degree: Cleveland State University - Masters in Education, Education

Hobbies

Golf, Watching Sports on TV, Pokemon, Skiing, Swimming, Reading

Tutoring Subjects

Arithmetic

College English

Comparative Literature

Elementary Math

Elementary School Math

English

English Grammar and Syntax

Essay Editing

High School English

Literature

Math

Middle School Math

Other

Pre-Algebra

Reading

Special Education

Writing