1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like KC

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of KC, a tutor from Rice University


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I graduated in May 2015 from Rice University in Houston, Texas with a Bachelor of Arts degree. I majored in Sociology and in the Study of Women, Gender, and Sexuality, and minored in Poverty, Justice, and Human Capabilities. I studied at the Bronx High School of Science in New York City prior to attending Rice. I have tutored and mentored students ages 5-18 on various subjects and interests, including general homework help, mathematics, history, SAT prep, and Chinese. I was born in Hong Kong and lived there until I was 9. I am a native speaker of and am academically proficient in Mandarin and Cantonese Chinese. My favorite subject to tutor is Chinese, because Chinese culture is fascinating and the language reflects that depth very well. I am patient, honest, and flexible. My Meyers-Briggs personality type is ENFP, so I am passionate, encouraging, and optimistic. I love challenges and I am passionate about helping students because when students know that I believe in them, they begin to feel that they are capable of overcoming their academic and other challenges. I love all kinds of cultures and religions, and I am fascinated by learning about and from people. I believe in learning from my students as I work with them to meet their needs. Outside of academia, I enjoy trying different cuisines and exploring art and cultural events, including visiting museums, galleries, and various cultural and ethnic festivals. I also love DIY (Do It Yourself) projects, because they make me feel capable and strong to take on challenges.

Connect with a tutor like KC

KC’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Rice University - Bachelor in Arts, Sociology; Study of Women, Gender, and Sexuality

Test Scores

SAT Composite (1600 scale): 1530

SAT Math: 750

SAT Verbal: 720

SAT Writing: 770


I love Korean food, DIY projects, and funny and positive cartoon shows

Q & A

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

I get to know the student's learning style. I chat with the student about his/her general attitude towards school and what else they like to do outside of school. That way, I get to know them holistically and can better understand how to help them!

How can you help a student become an independent learner?

I help students become independent learners by teaching them and helping them practice skills and techniques to apply to their learning. This helps them keep up with good habits and fully absorb all that they are taught. Learning is more than content. Understanding how to best wrap our heads around how to study and what to make of the content (regardless of what it is) is very important to being an independent learner.

How would you help a student stay motivated?

I discuss with students their large and small academic goals, and I encourage them to connect those goals to the tutoring that I provide. As such, they stay focused on their goals and motivated because my tutoring is helping them towards achieving their goals. I also end each session with a summary of what went well and what the student can work on so that they realize the tremendous progress they have made and stay motivated.

Connect with a tutor like KC