A photo of Megan, a tutor from Marietta College

Megan

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I graduated from Marietta College in 2011, with a Bachelor of the Arts in Political Science and a minor in French. For the past four years I have worked with community organizing non-profits in Ohio and, briefly, in Florida. In my spare time, I developed my own curriculum to pursue studies in International Conflict Resolution, which I will be studying this Fall at American University. I worked as a tutor during my time at Marietta, where I focused on helping those studying French and Political Science. I also worked extensively with the writing center, as writing consultant, and in our Communications Department, as a speech coach. My background has lent itself well to tutoring English, Reading, Writing, and History. I believe in working with students in a way that empowers them to build their own skills- an approach with an eye on long term sustainability and skill development. I think that it is important to be able to find fun in the learning process and I try to incorporate that in all of my sessions. My main hobby is learning, but outside of that I love to be out doors. I often go running or hiking in the area and I try to read every day. For a few weekends each year, I also act a judge for public speaking tournaments throughout the state.

Megan’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Marietta College - Bachelor in Arts, Political Science and Government

Test Scores

GRE Verbal: 167

Hobbies

Hiking, yoga, reading, road trips, running, travel

Tutoring Subjects

Algebra

History

Arithmetic

College English

College Essays

College Level American History

Comparative Literature

Conversational French

Elementary Math

Elementary School Math

English

English Grammar and Syntax

Essay Editing

French

French 1

French 2

Graduate Test Prep

GRE Analytical Writing

GRE Verbal

High School English

High School Level American History

HSPT Prep

ISEE Prep

ISEE- Lower Level

ISEE- Middle Level

ISEE- Upper Level

Languages

Literature

Math

Middle School Math

Other

Political Science

Public Speaking

Reading

Social studies

SSAT Prep

SSAT- Elementary Level

SSAT- Middle Level

SSAT- Upper Level

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Summer

Test Prep

Writing