1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Matthew

Personalized Learning • Professional Tutoring

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Matthew, a tutor from Bard College

Matthew

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I received a Bachelor of Arts in French Studies from Bard College, after transferring from Middlebury College, where I studied English and Russian. As a high school student, I benefited from one-on-one tutoring when preparing for standardized tests, and in my sessions I aim to promote an inclusive learning environment that is both heuristic and accessible. I tutor students in reading and writing test prep, general essay writing, as well as in all levels of French. I was raised speaking French at home with my mother, and I believe in the power of fluid conversation to reinforce grammatical concepts and facilitate thematic investigation. I am an editing enthusiast, and I love collaborating with students and empowering them to convey meaning in more compelling and polished ways. I feel most proficient when engaging with high school students and the nuanced subject matter they address, but my experience tutoring children at elementary and middle school levels enables me to interact comfortably with students of all ages. I like to adopt a teaching style that deviates from the dynamic of a large classroom setting, and from the often divisive tone of a traditional student-teacher relationship. With my school days still close behind, I hope to establish myself as less of an authority figure and more as an ally on the quest towards self-betterment. I hope to one day work as an editor in trade publishing, and I have been weighing the merits of pursing an MFA in literary translation. I worked as a laborer on a construction crew for years, and I have enjoyed farming both in the United States and abroad in France. I acted in plays and musicals throughout high school and college. I enjoy playing basketball, soccer, and the acoustic guitar. I have dabbled in stand-up comedy. I love movies and television, but their appeal pales in comparison to that of a good book.

Connect with a tutor like Matthew

Matthew’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Bard College - Bachelor in Arts, French Studies

Test Scores

ACT English: 33

ACT Reading: 31

SAT Verbal: 700

SAT Writing: 800

SAT Subject Test in French: 800

Hobbies

Basketball, acting, plays and musicals, stand up comedy, music and guitar, farming


Connect with a tutor like Matthew