A photo of Thomas, a tutor from University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus

Thomas

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I received my Bachelor of Arts in Spanish Culture and Linguistics and K-12 Teaching Certification in Spanish from the University of Pittsburgh. I received my Master in Education from St. Mary's University of Minnesota and then moved back to Pittsburgh to earn my Pre K-12 Principal Certification from the University of Pittsburgh as well as my Doctoral Degree this past summer. I have extensive knowledge of Hispanic culture - and a passion for the music of Latin America. I have utilized my Spanish-speaking skills not only to teach in a K-12 school setting, but also as an interpreter in the military. I took advantage of many opportunities while serving in the Navy and Army reserves to use my Spanish speaking skills in many medical clinics in Central America. With regard to tutoring, I enjoy working with all age groups. I have tutored students from the middle school level to the college level. I have tutored Spanish to NFL players as well as Italian to high school-aged students. I believe that learning another language is a very rewarding journey. As a native speaker of Italian, I can attest to the fact that learning about the culture is imperative to learning the language including history, food, music, customs, etc. Hence, as I tutor second languages, I am always sure to include information about these topics to maintain interest and increase knowledge.In my free time, I am an avid outdoorsman. I enjoy fishing, hunting, and boating. My favorite sport to watch on television is NHL hockey. I also play several instruments including the guitar and Venezuelan cuatro. I also have a supportive wife and five great children with different learning needs which helps me to relate to all types of learners.

Thomas’ Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus - Bachelor in Arts, Spanish

Graduate Degree: Walden University - Unknown, Administrator Leadership

Hobbies

my wife and five children