A photo of Mary, a tutor from College of the Holy Cross

Mary

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I graduated in 2011 from the College of the Holy Cross in Worcester MA. There I received my Bachelor's of Arts in Classics (that is, Latin and ancient Greek literature) with a concentration in Peace & Conflict Studies; right now I'm taking classes to ready myself for grad school for Psychology.

During undergrad, I tutored Latin for the Classics Honors Society and volunteered as an ESL teacher. After graduating, I moved to Spain and built on my volunteer experience by obtaining a TEFL certficate and tutoring and teaching there for the duration of my visa; when I returned to Philadelphia, I started working as a classroom ESL teacher for Kaplan International.

Maybe because of these experiences, my favorite subjects to help with tend to be those most involved with language - Latin, Spanish, Reading/Writing skills - as well as Psychology, a more recent passion. I'm also happy to assist students with math for test prep like the SAT and GRE. As a tutor I would consider my style to be supportive but challenging - I want my students to realize how capable they are, and to do that, they need to work! I believe in a relaxed and friendly environment but I know my clients' time is valuable, and we'll spend it as effectively as possible.

Mary’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: College of the Holy Cross - Bachelor in Arts, Classics (Latin and Greek languages)

Test Scores

GRE Quantitative: 165

GRE Verbal: 170

GRE Analytical Writing: 4.5

GRE Subject Test in Psychology: 820

Hobbies

As for my personal time, I love to travel and have been fortunate enough to live in both Italy and Spain, as well as visiting a number of other countries. I'm a bit of a gym rat - I like to run and lift weights, and have been known to pursue some more unu

Tutoring Subjects

AP Latin

College English

Conversational Spanish

English

ESL/ELL

Foreign Language

Graduate Test Prep

GRE

GRE Quantitative

GRE Subject Test in Psychology

GRE Subject Tests

GRE Verbal

High School English

Languages

Latin

Latin 1

Latin 2

Latin 3

Latin 4

Psychology

Quantitative Reasoning

SAT Reading

SAT Subject Test in Latin

SAT Subject Tests Prep

Social Sciences

Spanish

Spanish 1

Spanish 2

Spanish 3

Test Prep