1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Ashlie

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Ashlie, a tutor from Brown University


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a graduate of Brown University with a Bachelor of Arts in Global Development Studies, with a focus on gender and health. I am currently applying for masters programs in Public Health and Social Work and plan to enroll in September of 2015. Throughout my time in college, I was a volunteer tutor and mentor at an inner-city afterschool program in Providence, RI. I worked with elementary school-aged children, many of whom were learning English as a second language. I also had the opportunity to work at an afterschool program in an urban slum in Kenya for one summer, where I provided homework and test-prep help to primary and secondary school children. While I am comfortable and happy tutoring many subjects, I have the most fun with English and History/Social Studies, as these were my favorite subjects in school (though I must admit, math practice for standardized tests is my guilty pleasure!). I enjoy seeing kids learn and helping them to think beyond the problem at hand to consider applications of the materials they are learning. I believe that learning shouldn't just be about getting your schoolwork done, but also building critical thinking skills and an appreciation for knowledge; this philosophy guides my approach to tutoring. As a tutor, I am calm, patient, and understanding, but not afraid to challenge my students. When I'm not working, I enjoy reading just about everything, running, biking, and being outdoors.

Connect with a tutor like Ashlie

Ashlie’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Brown University - Bachelor in Arts, Global Development Studies


reading, running, biking, hiking, outdoors, French horn, soccer

Tutoring Subjects

Connect with a tutor like Ashlie