A photo of Iris, a tutor from Lesley University/Montclair State University

Iris

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a native of Germany and I have a Bachelor's Degree in Special Education and English from the University of Hamburg (Germany). I also hold a Master's Degree in Education with specialization of Creative Arts in Learning from Lesley University, Cambridge MA and a Master's Degree in French from Montclair State University. I am fascinated by the intersection of culture, history, and language, and I have always been passionate about the opportunity to explore new cultures and foreign languages. It all began when I was a high school student in my native Germany and became intrigued by the French language and culture after participating in a student exchange program in Aix en Provence. This has remained a constant throughout my life as I have taught French, German and English to students from Pre-K to Adult in a variety of settings and in a variety of countries including Germany, South Africa and the USA. I am a firm believer in being a lifelong learner and that each student is able to reach his/her potential with the right guidance. In my spare time I am an avid reader (literature, history), I am also interested in the arts, and I love attending cultural events (museum exhibits, theatre plays, opera, classical/jazz/world music concerts). I also enjoy yoga, meditation, and hiking.

Iris’ Qualifications

Education & Certification

Graduate Degree: Lesley University/Montclair State University - Masters, Education/French

Undergraduate Degree: Universitaet Hamburg(Germany) - Bachelor in Arts, Special Education/English

Hobbies

Reading, art (attending cultural events), opera, yoga, meditation, and hiking.

Tutoring Subjects

AP French Language and Culture

College English

Conversational French

Conversational German

English

ESL/ELL

French

French 2

French 3

French 4

German

German 2

German 3

German 4

High School English

Languages

SAT Subject Test in French

SAT Subject Test in French with Listening

SAT Subject Test in German

SAT Subject Test in German with Listening

SAT Subject Tests Prep

Test Prep