1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Cassie

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Cassie, a tutor from Framingham State University


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a recent graduate of Framingham State University. I graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology along with two minors in Psychology and Neuroscience. I also pursued the pre-medical tract and have a strong background in chemistry (general and organic) and physics. Since graduation, I have completed a course to become a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) and I have been studying for the MCAT exam.

While studying at Framingham State, I worked in the Center for Academic Services and Advising as a peer subject tutor in Biology for two years. I also held a position as a Biology Supplemental Instructor leader (SI), for two years. As an SI leader, I attended the introductory biology classes and created review and study sessions based on content covered in laboratory and in lecture. I also have three semesters of experience doing research and writing manuscripts. The final manuscript from my experiments was sent out for publication in June 2014! Before entering college, I took a two year course to become infant/toddler and preschool teacher certified. I have four years of experience working in daycare and preschools with younger children and helping prepare pre-kindergarten students for kindergarten with reading, writing, and basic math.

Although I am super passionate about biology, I also enjoy tutoring math, especially at the elementary and middle school level. I have been informally tutoring peers and younger students in math for about 10 years I.e. When I was in middle school, I was tutoring elementary school; when I was in 10th grade, I was tutoring 10th grade and below. Math is a subject where foundation skills are critical. Concepts learned at lower levels are needed for upper levels. I enjoyed tutoring math, because it reinforced concepts that I had learned at a lower level and left me with the satisfaction that my peers and students would be able to grasp those concepts and proceed to the next level. The same holds true for biology. You must grasp concepts learned in introductory biology to understand the greater concepts as well as applications. Biology, the study of life, is all around as, as well as math. These are everyday concepts that can be applied to any career.

As an experienced peer tutor, part of my tutoring philosophy is to connect with the student, and provide unique ways for the student to remember something. As both a student and a tutor, I am adamant about using contemporary examples, analogies, acronyms and mnemonics. Also, since I am a visual leaner, I am also a fan of bringing visual images into the class room. Although it may not always seem so, the internet can be your best friend during a tutoring session. I like to find images and explain them to give a deeper understanding of a topic, and when all else fails, I always carry around a personal white board!

When I am not in the classroom, I like to find myself immersed in the beautiful culture of the city. At least once a month, I like to take my mom out to a restaurant of a different ethnicity and culture to try some different foods. We most recently discovered a Caribbean restaurant called "Some 'Ting Nice" in Somerville, MA. Although I wouldn't call dancing a talent, I enjoy going out dancing with friends. When I'm not out eating or dancing, I like to test my creativity in the kitchen. I like to look up different recipes that I have eaten in a restaurant, and put my own little spin on it. My favorite dish to cook is my spin on shrimp paella, and arroz con gandules y habichuelas (rice with pigeon peas and pink beans). In the summer time, you are most likely to find me walking the beach or swimming with my cousins. In the winter time, you are most likely to find me in an ice skating rink, or inside cooking!

My immersion in the different cultures of the greater Boston area, and my background of tutoring (both formal and informal) along with my experience working in preschools, gives me the experience to work with all types students from toddler to college. I have the patience to work with A+ students who just need a confidence booster to students with a learning disability who need some extra time learning basic math skills. I am passionate about learning and tutoring and hope to one day become a medical doctor who teaches classes in medical school, assisting students to work up to their potential and be the best and compassionate doctor they can be.

Connect with a tutor like Cassie

Cassie’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Framingham State University - Bachelor of Science, Biology, General

Test Scores

SAT Math: 700


Swimming, Beaching, Trying new foods, Keeping up with novel research in sciences

Tutoring Subjects


Algebra 2


Anatomy & Physiology

AP Biology

AP Psychology




College Algebra

College Biology

Elementary Math

Elementary School Math


Graduate Test Prep

GRE Subject Test in Biochemistry, Cell and Molecular Biology

GRE Subject Test in Biology

GRE Subject Tests

High School Biology

Life Sciences


Middle School Math





Social Sciences

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization


Test Prep

Connect with a tutor like Cassie