1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Gene

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Gene, a tutor from Augustana College

Gene

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I enjoy teaching and tutoring because I enjoy working with kids, and I love to have a part in seeing them do things they weren't able to do before. As a lifelong teacher that has been my reward. I have been teaching for a many years and am certified to teach in elementary, middle and high schools. I prefer working one-on-one or with small groups. When I start getting to know my students I want to know them as the unique persons they are. Then I want to know what learning needs they have so together we can set goals and work on them. When I can I like to use games and give challenges. We have as much fun as we can while making the efforts needed for learning. Kids, parents and I will partner together so we can each do our part so kids can be successful.

I have a BA in biology from Augustana College, a MS in Education from Illinois State University and further coursework at Northern Illinois University. Besides teaching in Illinois and California my experience includes years in Indonesia and Papua New Guinea. During the last three years I was teaching English online to Chinese students. Subjects I can teach are elementary level subjects, especially math (up to pre-algebra), science, English and reading. I also can teach high school biology.

When I'm not teaching I enjoy doing things outdoors, especially camping and fishing. I also like to make music by singing and playing my harmonica.


Connect with a tutor like Gene

Gene’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Augustana College - Bachelor in Arts, Biology, General

Graduate Degree: Illinois State University - Master of Science, Education

Hobbies

I enjoy outdoor things like fishing and camping. I also like to read, sing and play harmonica. We have two cats, Buster and Missy. They are brother and sister.

Tutoring Subjects

Biology

CBEST - The California Basic Educational Skills Test

College Biology

Elementary School

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Science

English

Harmonica

High School Biology

Learning Differences

Math

Middle School

Middle School Math

Middle School Science

Music

Other

Plant Biology

Professional Certifications

Reading

Science

Special Education

Zoology

Connect with a tutor like Gene