1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Maggie

Personalized Learning • Professional Tutoring

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Maggie, a tutor from Rhodes College

Maggie

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I was born and raised in Memphis, TN, where eventually I went to earn a BS at Rhodes College. After struggling between dual my loves of science and literature, I graduated in 2014 with a degree in Biology with a minor in English. I participated in several research projects studying animal behavior during and after college before I became interested in pursuing a career in environmental education.

For half the year, I work full time as a park ranger providing education and visitor services seasonally at national parks and public lands. I teach curriculum-based education to visiting schools, and I answer general questions to the public, on topics ranging from ecology, geology, and history, to where to find the bathrooms.

I have worked as a personal tutor since high school, teaching a variety of subjects to all ages of students.
Since college between my seasonal positions of work, I have created full time work for myself for students on summer vacation, teaching math, writing, English, and science to students in elementary, middle, and high school.

When I tutor, I'm hoping to empower students to think and analyze to find their own solutions. I don't want to show them the right way to do things, but rather the right way for THEM to do things. Our brains work differently, and we find the same right answers in different ways!

Like your typical millennial, I enjoy traveling, but I've really made a full time life of it. Since college, I haven't lived in one place longer than 7 months. My seasonal homes have included Tennessee, North Carolina, California, Wyoming, South Africa, and the coast of Oregon. My primary recreational activity in all of these places is hiking, and I've been lucky to live in some beautiful natural spaces for outdoor recreation.
When I'm not working or hiking, I'm reading, writing, sleeping, or trying to learn to learn how to be a decent cook.

Connect with a tutor like Maggie

Maggie’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Rhodes College - Bachelor of Science, Biology, General

Test Scores

ACT Composite: 35

ACT English: 36

ACT Math: 35

ACT Reading: 36

ACT Science: 34

SAT Composite: 1490

SAT Math: 690

SAT Verbal: 800

SAT Writing: 790

GRE: 331

GRE Quantitative: 161

GRE Verbal: 170

Hobbies

Hiking, cooking and baking, reading, writing, and occasionally getting artsy

Tutoring Subjects

ACT Prep

ACT English

ACT Reading

ACT Science

Algebra

American Literature

Biology

College English

College Level American Literature

CSAP/ TCAP Prep

Earth Science

Ecology

Elementary School

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Science

Elementary School Writing

English

English Grammar and Syntax

Essay Editing

Geometry

High School Biology

High School English

High School Level American Literature

High School Writing

History

Math

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Science

Middle School Writing

Other

Pre-Algebra

Science

Social studies

Test Prep

Writing


Connect with a tutor like Maggie