1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Kristen

Personalized Learning • Professional Tutoring

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Kristen, a tutor from Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Kristen

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I graduated from MIT in June of 2016 with a Bachelors degree in Chemical-Biological Engineering and a minor in Public Policy. I tutor in a wide variety of areas, but specialize in high school and college math and science, as well as test prep. I've been teaching in some capacity since I was in high school; first tutoring peers in math and science through National Honor Society, then providing more informal one-on-one help to fellow students at MIT. I've also worked extensively teaching swim lessons for the past five years, particularly to beginners. Both in and out of the pool, I believe that a good lesson is one where the student is doing the thinking. I teach interactively, asking questions, listening to students. explanations, and probing students to produce the correct answer for themselves. I want to model thinking and questioning strategies that will allow a student to be successful without a tutor; I endeavor always to work myself out of a job. When I'm not tutoring or teaching swim lessons, I enjoy reading (especially mystery and crime novels), distance running, and long walks with my chocolate lab Snickers.

Connect with a tutor like Kristen

Kristen’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Massachusetts Institute of Technology - Bachelors, Chemical-Biological Engineering

Test Scores

ACT Composite: 36

ACT English: 36

ACT Math: 36

ACT Reading: 34

ACT Science: 36

SAT Composite: 2370

SAT Math: 790

SAT Verbal: 800

SAT Writing: 780

Hobbies

Reading, competitive swimming, distance running, kayaking, anything with my dog!


Connect with a tutor like Kristen