A photo of Joel, a tutor from Cornell University

Joel

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am currently an undergraduate student at Cornell University. I intend to major in physics and either minor or double major in computer science.
In the past, I have tutored middle school and high school students, mostly in mathematics, but I also helped with middle school science and English as well as ACT preparation. I look forward to tutoring students in computer science, especially object-oriented programming; mathematics, from middle school mathematics to multivariable calculus and differential equations; preparation for the ACT, SAT, and AP tests; and topics in literature and history. My favorite subject to tutor is probably calculus because calculus really opens students’ options for further exploration in math, science, economics, and pretty much every other STEM field.
When it comes to tutoring, I believe that in order to give useful feedback to a student I need to observe and listen to them just as much they need to listen to me. Only then can I see what they need help understanding and how best to approach explaining it to them by building on their strengths. I think it’s important to allow students time to think about problems and try to approach them on their own before giving them guidance so that they can develop confidence in their own ability to approach similar challenges independently.
I have many hobbies outside of my academic pursuits. I enjoy reading a variety of genres especially science fiction, fantasy, weird fiction, and all sorts of non-fiction. I sometimes try my hand at writing short stories or poetry. I also frequently play musical instruments and listen to music. I play the guitar, mandolin, and trumpet and sometimes the keyboards or bass guitar. My favorite genres to listen to are jazz, progressive rock, folk, classic rock, and classical music. Some of my favorite bands and composers are King Crimson, Pink Floyd, Yes, Sun Ra, Miles Davis, Paul Simon, Led Zeppelin, and many others.

Joel’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Cornell University - Current Undergrad, Physics

Test Scores

ACT Composite: 35

ACT English: 35

ACT Math: 34

ACT Reading: 34

ACT Science: 36

SAT Composite: 780

SAT Math: 800

SAT Verbal: 800

SAT Writing: 740

SAT Mathematics Level 2: 780

SAT Subject Test in Physics: 780

Hobbies

Reading, writing, history, fun/interesting mathematics, guitar, mandolin, throat singing, progressive rock, folk music, jazz

Tutoring Subjects

ACT Prep

ACT English

ACT Math

ACT Reading

ACT Science

Advanced Placement Prep

Algebra

Algebra 2

AP Computer Science

AP Physics 2

Calculus

College Algebra

College Computer Science

Computer Science

Geometry

German

German 1

High School Computer Science

Java

Math

Other

Python

SAT Writing and Language

Summer

Technology and Computer Science

Test Prep

Trigonometry