1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Max

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Max, a tutor from Ball State University


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I received my Bachelor of Science in Biology from Ball State University in the summer of 2014 and have been taking a break from academia since then. I am in the process now of applying for PhD programs in Computational Biology. I have done research in the field of freshwater ecology and am anticipating the publication of a paper I co-authored in the next several months.
In the past I have worked with students of a variety of age ranges on standardized test prep, middle school and high school math classes, and college-level biology courses as a volunteer, teaching assistant, and private tutor. I have spent time lecturing, providing homework help, and offering specific testing strategies to different students at different times. I have experience with the majority of science and math Advanced Placement courses, the ACT, the SAT, the general GRE, and the Biology GRE.
To me, tutoring is a two-way street. While it is important that I answer questions, I also need to ask them to be effective. I love when students have specific questions about the material they are working on because it means they have an understanding of their strengths and weaknesses. I want to encourage students to always be able to explain why they picked a certain answer or what steps they took to solve a problem. I also want students to have a connection to the material and understand how it relates to their existing knowledge. The more connections we make between concepts, the better understanding we have of the big picture.
When I'm not working or studying, I like to spend time outdoors walking, hiking, and swimming. I also love music and usually aim to go to at least one concert each month.

Connect with a tutor like Max

Max’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Ball State University - Bachelors, Biology, General

Test Scores

ACT Composite: 36

ACT English: 36

ACT Math: 36

ACT Reading: 35

ACT Science: 36

SAT Composite (1600 scale): 1580

SAT Math: 800

SAT Verbal: 780

SAT Writing: 770

GRE Quantitative: 170

GRE Verbal: 167


Live music, hiking, video games

Q & A

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

I typically review with practice tests and initial assessments completed prior to the session to identify areas of strength and weakness to guide study plans. I also respond to any specific questions the student has about the material.

Connect with a tutor like Max