1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Zakiyyah

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Zakiyyah, a tutor from Davidson College

Zakiyyah

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am passionate about education and helping young students reach their full potential. This desire was instilled in me as a child as I have had a mother and teachers growing up who challenged to exceed academically. This passion has been with me till this day and I want to share that same love of learning with students.

I have tutored, mentored and taught with students from ages 7 up to 15 years old in after-school programs, summer programs, and in both the public school and charter school setting. I have tutored and taught students in elementary math and ELA, middle school history, ELA and math. I obtained my Bachelor's of Arts Degree in Africana studies with a minor in Arab studies from Davidson College in 2018. I am currently tutoring in subjects of elementary math & ELA, middle school math, ELA, writing, and history and will soon begin tutoring in pre-Algebra and Algebra I. I have worked with students with learning and behavior disabilities(ADHD, Down Syndrome, Autism, etc ) as well as students who struggled

I believe that as an educator I am responsible for meeting student needs and to be creative in figuring out how to mine out the potential in a student. It is also important to make the session, lesson and/or class environment safe and culturally relevant to the student (s) that I am instructing so that they not only grasp the lesson content but enjoy class too.
I believe that it is important to keep the learning environment student-centered.

Connect with a tutor like Zakiyyah

Zakiyyah’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Davidson College - Bachelor in Arts, African Studies

Hobbies

I am a native English speaker. love to listen to music in Spanish and Arabic and I love listening to classical and neo-soul music. I love trying new cooking recipes. I love making digital crafts on Canva.

Tutoring Subjects

ACT Writing

Admissions

Adult ESL/ELL

African History

African-American History

Arabic

College Application Essays

Elementary School English

Elementary School Reading

English

Essay Editing

High School English

High School Writing

History

Languages

Learning Differences

Math

Middle School

Middle School English

Middle School Math

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Social Studies

Middle School Writing

Other

Reading

Social Studies

Special Education

Test Prep

Writing

Connect with a tutor like Zakiyyah