1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Kara

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Kara, a tutor from University of Central Missouri

Kara

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I obtained my Bachelors from CMSU in 5-9 Science/Language Arts teacher education and certifications from multiple states and the Department of Defense Dependent Schools (Overseas Military schools) in 5-12 (Middle/Secondary School) for General Science, English/Language Arts and Biology subject areas. I have been working with students in multiple settings for over 30 years and have over 18 years experience in various educational settings to include church, private, charter, public, home-school, co-op and virtual platforms. I have taught all core classes and many electives for PreK-8th and substitute taught/tutored for many high school and college level classes. Tutoring subjects vary but anything PreK-8, and High School to College varies. My favorite area to teach/tutor is Beginning Phonics/early Reading and early Math skills. I generally use a child-led, teacher-guided, hands-on, centers and manipulatives, Montessori, Nature-schooling, un-schooling, experience-based, independence encouraged and play-based approach to teaching. I have student taught/taught stateside (USA), internationally (in Germany and South Korea) and online/virtually. I have also worked with many students from China, South Korea, Mexico, Thailand, Sweden, Germany etc with ELL/ELA needs. My classroom experience includes student teaching and teaching in 6-8 Science, assisting with 6-8 Math, 6th Math, 6-8 Math Summer School, 6th Science, 7-8th Science, PreK-1st, then while home-schooling PreK-8th+ level materials. I also have assistant coaching experience for girls Volleyball and chaperoning/assistant experience for girls Basketball. While home-schooling, I had my oldest reading between 12-18 months of age and my youngest by 18-24 months old. They both were doing Reading and Math at a 2nd-3rd grade level prior to PreK and at a 5th-6th grade level prior to 2nd grade.

Connect with a tutor like Kara

Kara’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Central Missouri - Bachelor of Science, Science Teacher Education

Graduate Degree: University of Central Missouri - Certificate, Language Arts Teacher Education

Hobbies

I enjoy home-schooling my own children, traveling (world-wide), wood-working/furniture building, teaching/tutoring, scientific research/studies, health/fitness, learning other languages, playing board/card games, reading, riding horses and much more!

Tutoring Subjects

Algebra

Algebra 2

Anatomy & Physiology

Art

Astronomy

Biology

Chemistry

College Biology

College Physics

Conversational German

Creative Writing

Earth Science

Elementary School

Elementary School English

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Science

Elementary School Writing

English

English Grammar and Syntax

Environmental Science

ESL/ELL

Essay Editing

German

German 1

Handwriting

High School Biology

High School Chemistry

High School English

High School Level American Literature

High School Physics

High School Writing

ISEE Prep

ISEE-Lower Level Mathematics Achievement

ISEE-Lower Level Quantitative Reasoning

ISEE-Lower Level Reading Comprehension

ISEE-Lower Level Verbal Reasoning

ISEE-Lower Level Writing

ISEE-Middle Level Mathematics Achievement

ISEE-Middle Level Quantitative Reasoning

ISEE-Middle Level Reading Comprehension

ISEE-Middle Level Verbal Reasoning

ISEE-Middle Level Writing

Languages

Learning Differences

Life Sciences

Literature

Math

Microsoft Office

Middle School Math

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Science

Middle School Writing

Nutrition

Other

Phonics

Physics

PRAXIS

PRAXIS English

PRAXIS Science

Pre-Algebra

Presentation Skills

Productivity

Professional Certifications

Psychologies

Psychology

Reading

Science

Social Sciences

Special Education

Spelling Bee

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Technology and Computer Science

Test Prep

Visual Arts

Writing

Zoology

Connect with a tutor like Kara