1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Melissa

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Melissa, a tutor from West Virginia University Institute of Technology

Melissa

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a graduate of Old Dominion University. I received my Masters of Education for Early Childhood Education from Old Dominion University. I received my Bachelor of Science Degree for Human Development and Human Services from Virginia Tech-- Go Hokies! While at Virginia Tech, I developed a love for working with students through an internship at a middle school. This experience encouraged me to go on to pursue my Masters degree so I could be a teacher. I have been a public and private school teacher for 16 years. I currently teach in Suffolk, VA as a Kindergarten teacher. During the pandemic, I was a virtual teacher for almost a whole school year so I have grown exceptionally proficient at holding virtual class meetings and small group or one to one tutoring sessions. I am passionate about teaching children to read which is why I have devoted time toward pursuing extensive training in phonemic awareness, phonics, and structured reading. I was voted the Reading Teacher of the Year at my school building in the 2018-2019 and 2021-2022 school year. Other subjects I enjoy teaching are math, social studies, and science. During tutoring sessions, I use hands-on materials as well as technology tools to balance the format of activities and learning preferences using best practices of how children learn. I work to help a child where they are and then push them forward with some beneficial struggle and effort. In my spare time, I enjoy reading mysteries and going for hikes in my free time.

Connect with a tutor like Melissa

Melissa’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: West Virginia University Institute of Technology - Bachelor of Science, Human Services

Graduate Degree: Old Dominion University - Master of Science, Early Childhood Education

Hobbies

Going for hikes, playing with my two boys age 8 and 10. Watching mysteries and reading mystery novels Playing solitaire

Tutoring Subjects

Elementary School

Elementary School English

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Science

Elementary School Writing

Elementary Social Studies

English

Math

Other

Reading

Science

Social Studies

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Writing

Connect with a tutor like Melissa