1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Sarah

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Sarah, a tutor from The University of Texas at Dallas


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

Hello, there!
My name is Sarah Manns, and I am a 19-year-old Sophomore at the University of Texas at Dallas. I’m currently working towards a Bachelor's Degree in Literary Studies, minoring in Psychology, and am working towards teaching certification. Afterwards, I intend to work towards my Masters Degree in Humanities with a focus on Studies in Literature. I have been a part of the Future Teacher Internship program at my high school, worked as a teaching intern/assistant, and am currently employed as an AVID tutor. I have worked with students ranging from kindergarten to 8th grade, though my specialty lies with older kids. With a GPA of 4.5, I was ranked number 10 in my high school graduating class of over 650 students, and my current GPA at UTD is 3.97.
Ever since I was about ten years old, I’ve known I’ve wanted to teach. Helping others is my passion, and I want to have a positive impact on the lives of those I meet. There’s nothing better than the euphoric feeling I get when I know I’ve helped a student succeed, changed their lives for the better, or helped them understand something they once struggled with. Even the little things matter to me, and if nothing else, I’d like to at least bring a smile to every students’ face. I’m a very empathetic person and I hope that when I tutor or eventually teach, my students will feel comfortable to be themselves around me and know that they have someone to turn to for guidance in any situation. I respect each and every student as an individual, as a human being, and as an equal. I don’t view my students as inferior, and by making this level of respect clear, hopefully my students will feel more inclined to express themselves and trust in me. I only want the best for my students, and I will work hard to ensure that every one of them succeeds at their goals at least in some way.
I am comfortable tutoring an array of subjects, but I would feel most comfortable tutoring English or math. Any subject that deals with the basic middle school curriculum is fine for me to tackle, thanks to my experience working as a middle school AVID tutor. Even if, for some reason, I am somewhat rusty or unfamiliar with a particular subject, I can use the AVID method to draw upon what the student already knows, ask pertinent and engaging questions, keep the student focused and on task, and guide the student to reach the conclusion fairly independently. Since I’ve recently graduated high school (2015), most of the material is still relatively fresh in my mind. At most, I’ll need a quick refresher on a certain topic, but I will be quick to remember and highly effective in helping a struggling student gain a better understanding. I have experience with taking standardized tests like the SAT, PSAT, TAKS, AND STAAR (among others) and with taking multiple AP classes and tests. I’ve been a very successful student in my academic career, and am quite enthusiastic about passing down knowledge or tips to any student who wants them.
I have a fairly flexible schedule and am willing to change things up depending on the needs of my clients. I will be extremely positive, cooperative, and willing to meet any needs that you or your child have. I want to see happiness, success, and light bulbs going off in my students’ heads! I hope you’ll consider me as a good fit for your student.
Thank you very much!

Connect with a tutor like Sarah

Sarah’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: The University of Texas at Dallas - Bachelors, Literary Studies with minor in Psychology

Test Scores

SAT Composite (1600 scale): 1390

SAT Writing: 720


theatre arts, singing, dancing, music, reading, writing

Tutoring Subjects

7th Grade

7th Grade Math

7th Grade Reading

7th Grade Writing

8th Grade

8th Grade Math

8th Grade Reading

8th Grade Writing

9th Grade

9th Grade Math

9th Grade Reading

9th Grade Writing

Adult Literacy


College English

Comparative Literature


English Grammar and Syntax

Essay Editing


High School

High School English

High School Writing

Homework Support


ISEE- Middle Level



Middle School

Middle School Math

Middle School Reading

Middle School Writing



PSAT Critical Reading

PSAT Writing Skills


SAT Writing and Language


SSAT- Middle Level

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization



Connect with a tutor like Sarah