1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Alice

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Alice, a tutor from Ohio University-Main Campus


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I promise to pass my enthusiasm for reading, writing, English (or Spanish), and even the nitty gritty grammar to my students. I focus on helping my students gain a deeper understanding of broad concepts rather than expecting them to merely memorize disconnected bits of information. My teaching style is to draw connections between my students' school work and their lives, and I give them the tools to discover how everything they're learning relates to the bigger picture. When they notice these connections to the real world and gain the ability to place everything they're learning into a broader context, they start to understand the importance of concepts that previously seemed pointless and arbitrary.

I'm a pro at breaking difficult concepts down in a way that makes sense to my students. Often, information is presented to students in an overcomplicated way that does not connect with them or relate to their lives. This causes them to lose interest in the subject. I have a completely different approach-I use accessible language and interject helpful tips and tricks to help my students not only to remember, but to truly understand and master the topic. My approach allows my students learn about so much more than just grammar, reading, writing, English, or Spanish during our tutoring sessions. I use these subjects as a catalyst for helping them learn about themselves the world around them.

As for educational credentials, I have a Bachelor's Degree in English and journalism with a minor in Spanish. I also have a Master's degree in education. I finished both degrees with a 3.9 GPA. I have experience working with students from pre-K to college undergrads as a tutor, a mentor, a camp counselor, and a teacher.

When I'm not working, you can find me writing, reading, doing yoga, hula hooping, or playing my flute.

Connect with a tutor like Alice

Alice’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Ohio University-Main Campus - Bachelors, Writing Studies

Graduate Degree: Ohio University-Main Campus - Masters in Education, Educational Studies

Test Scores

ACT English: 35


reading, writing, performance poetry, playing the flute, yoga, hula hooping, arts & crafts

Tutoring Subjects

10th Grade Reading

10th Grade Writing

11th Grade Reading

11th Grade Writing

12th Grade Reading

12th Grade Writing

1st Grade Reading

1st Grade Writing

2nd Grade Reading

2nd Grade Writing

3rd Grade Reading

3rd Grade Writing

4th Grade Reading

4th Grade Writing

5th Grade Reading

5th Grade Writing

6th Grade Reading

6th Grade Writing

7th Grade Reading

7th Grade Writing

8th Grade Reading

8th Grade Writing

9th Grade Reading

9th Grade Writing

ACT Writing

Adult Literacy

College English

College Essays

Comparative Literature

Conversational Spanish

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing


English Grammar and Syntax


Essay Editing


High School English

High School Writing



Middle School Reading

Middle School Writing


Public Speaking



Spanish 1

Spanish 2

Spanish 3

Spanish 4

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization


Connect with a tutor like Alice